Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Making some part of window transparent

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    India
    Posts
    115
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Question Making some part of window transparent

    Hi

    I'm trying to emulate skinning functionality available in e.g. WMP and Winamp.
    I know that to make some part of the window transparent setMask() is used. But what about the case where background of main window changes dynamically e.g. when using the concept of drawers.
    I'm getting this to work but it seems like I've implemented an inefficient method (may also be impractical).
    How should I do this?
    1. Let the widget responsible for alteration in background call some method like updateMask() (this is what I've implemented)
    2. Determine somehow when is the time to update mask.
    3. Some other method?


    So, I want your hints/suggestions about this.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Making some part of window transparent

    How about just creating a new QStyle implementation?

Similar Threads

  1. How to set Qt window transparent?
    By montylee in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 24th December 2013, 21:11
  2. how QTextEdit transparent to his parent window?
    By wesley in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th September 2009, 08:23
  3. Transparent window with QGLWidget
    By ultr in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th April 2008, 08:01
  4. Set a window as child at runtime
    By sabeesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th November 2007, 10:30
  5. Regarding drawing on Transparent Window
    By Shalabh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31st May 2007, 11:32

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.