Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    I created a project with Qt 4.3 Open Source and Visual Studio Express 2005 and had great sucess with it. I had to get a new computer, so I installed Qt 4.4.1 and Visual Studio Express 2008, and it seemed to be successful. The examples seem to work, but I tried to build my project that I had created on my old system and I get this (the rule is make debug):
    'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    If I try to rebuild (rule:
    qmake –project
    qmake
    make clean
    make debug)
    :
    1>Performing Makefile project actions
    1>Failure to open file: C:/Documents and Settings/abrounstein/My Documents/Visual Studio 2008/Projects/RoboSearch/RoboSearch//RoboSearch.pro
    1>Unable to generate project file.
    1>Failure to read QMAKESPEC conf file c:\Qt4.4\mkspec\win32-msvc2008\qmake.conf.
    1>Error processing project file: C:/Documents and Settings/abrounstein/My Documents/Visual Studio 2008/Projects/RoboSearch/RoboSearch/RoboSearch.pro
    1>'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    1>operable program or batch file.
    1>'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    1>operable program or batch file.
    1>Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"
    I've tried to fix the path, but I am still new to this, and so I haven't been able to figure it out myself. The only posts I can find that are similar seem to be related to mingW, which is not what I used.

    Does anybody have any suggestions? I'm running out of ideas..... Thanks!

    Let me know if any more info would be helpful.

    edit: And the line ending "RoboSearch//RoboSearch.pro" is not a typo, that's what it says. The double \\ would maybe be why it isn't finding it, but I have no idea how to fix it.
    Last edited by abrou; 7th August 2008 at 23:49.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    I think that the visual studio command must be "nmake" not "make". Maybe you have messed up instalation of MinGW ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    Does the .pro file exist at that location (there's RoboSearch twice in the path)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    The Storm: I didn't install using mingW (although it does happen to be on this computer already)

    Jacek: Yes, If you take away the extra '\' then it is in the path specified (Both RoboSearch's are there because Visual Studio set up the project that way)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    166
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    Then try to use "nmake" instead of "make", perhaps it will fix your problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    Yes, I had tried that, and I got the following error:

    1>------ Build started: Project: RoboSearch, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
    1>Performing Makefile project actions
    1>Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
    1>Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    1> c:\Qt4.4\bin\qmake.exe -win32 -o Makefile RoboSearch.pro
    1>Failure to read QMAKESPEC conf file c:\Qt4.4\mkspec\win32-msvc2008\qmake.conf.
    1>Error processing project file: RoboSearch.pro
    1>NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'c:\Qt4.4\bin\qmake.exe' : return code '0x3'
    1>Stop.
    1>Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"
    1>Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\abrounstein\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\RoboSearch\RoboSearch\Debug\BuildLog .htm"
    1>RoboSearch - 2 error(s), 0 warning(s)
    ========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========
    I am now investigating this. Any suggestions would be appreciated! So much for me to learn!

    edit: And I should add that I have made an environment variable QMAKESPEC=C:\Qt4.4\mkspecs\win32-msvc2008 and this directory does have qmake.conf in it
    Last edited by abrou; 11th August 2008 at 17:52.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    Quote Originally Posted by abrou View Post
    I should add that I have made an environment variable QMAKESPEC=C:\Qt4.4\mkspecs\win32-msvc2008 and this directory does have qmake.conf in it
    Set QMAKESPEC to win32-msvc2008.

  8. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    abrou (11th August 2008)

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    54
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    Thank you very much! It seems to be compiling now!

    It's always a simple, yet stupid mistake, isn't it?

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008

    Hey, I have the same problem. I tried adding that QMAKESPEC to win32-msvc2008. But still doesn't work.

    I'm running on visual studio 2008 professional. I don't think I have mingw installed. Could this be the problem?
    If yes, will the Qt exe for windows with mingw be enough?

    Here's the error:

    Performing Makefile project actions
    Usage: qmake [mode] [options] [files]
    QMake has two modes, one mode for generating project files based on
    some heuristics, and the other for generating makefiles. Normally you
    shouldn't need to specify a mode, as makefile generation is the default
    mode for qmake, but you may use this to test qmake on an existing project
    Mode:
    -project Put qmake into project file generation mode
    In this mode qmake interprets files as files to
    be built,
    defaults to *.c; *.ui; *.y; *.l; *.ts; *.xlf; *.qrc; *.h; *.hpp; *.hh; *.hxx; *.cpp; *.cc; *.cxx
    -makefile Put qmake into makefile generation mode (default)
    In this mode qmake interprets files as project files to
    be processed, if skipped qmake will try to find a project
    file in your current working directory
    Warnings Options:
    -Wnone Turn off all warnings
    -Wall Turn on all warnings
    -Wparser Turn on parser warnings
    -Wlogic Turn on logic warnings
    Options:
    * You can place any variable assignment in options and it will be *
    * processed as if it was in [files]. These assignments will be parsed *
    * before [files]. *
    -o file Write output to file
    -unix Run in unix mode
    -win32 Run in win32 mode
    -macx Run in Mac OS X mode
    -d Increase debug level
    -t templ Overrides TEMPLATE as templ
    -tp prefix Overrides TEMPLATE so that prefix is prefixed into the value
    -help This help
    -v Version information
    -after All variable assignments after this will be
    parsed after [files]
    -norecursive Don't do a recursive search
    -recursive Do a recursive search
    -cache file Use file as cache [makefile mode only]
    -spec spec Use spec as QMAKESPEC [makefile mode only]
    -nocache Don't use a cache file [makefile mode only]
    -nodepend Don't generate dependencies [makefile mode only]
    -nomoc Don't generate moc targets [makefile mode only]
    -nopwd Don't look for files in pwd [project mode only]
    Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"
    Thanks!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28th October 2013, 02:08
  2. qtgui4.dll error in visual c++ 2005
    By Comptrol in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 19th June 2008, 08:18
  3. Qt configure with msvc.net
    By jivanr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2007, 09:17
  4. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 14:15
  5. problem with linking
    By mickey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12th August 2006, 22:41

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.