+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Question Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Hi all.
    I decided to look at kinetik, so I downloaded it. It needs Qt 4.6 (there is qcontiguouscache.h included), so I downloaded it also. I have allready Qt 4.5.1 installed (qt creator, and integrated into vs2008). When I run configure.exe from visual studio command promt I get error. This is the part of log
    Qt Code:
    1. Sources are in..............D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable
    2. Build is done in............D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable
    3. Install prefix..............D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable
    4. Headers installed to........D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\include
    5. Libraries installed to......D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\lib
    6. Plugins installed to........D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\plugins
    7. Binaries installed to.......D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\bin
    8. Docs installed to...........D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\doc
    9. Data installed to...........D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable
    10. Translations installed to...D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\translations
    11. Examples installed to.......D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\examples
    12. Demos installed to..........D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\demos
    13.  
    14. Creating qmake...
    15.  
    16. Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
    17. Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    18.  
    19. cl -c -Foproject.obj -W3 -nologo -O2 -I. -Igenerators -Igenerators\uni
    20. x -Igenerators\win32 -Igenerators\mac -Igenerators\symbian -ID:\Qt
    21. \qt-qt-4.6-stable\include -ID:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\include\QtCore
    22. -ID:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\include -ID:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-sta
    23. ble\include\QtCore -ID:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\src\corelib\global -I
    24. D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\src\corelib\xml -ID:\Qt\qt-qt-
    25. 4.6-stable\mkspecs\win32-msvc2005 -DQT_NO_TEXTCODEC -DQT_NO_UNICODETABLES -DQT
    26. _LITE_COMPONENT -DQT_NODLL -DQT_NO_STL -DQT_NO_COMPRESS -DUNICODE -DHAVE_QCONFI
    27. G_CPP -DQT_BUILD_QMAKE -DQT_NO_THREAD -DQT_NO_QOBJECT -DQT_NO_GEOM_VARIANT -DQT
    28. _NO_DATASTREAM -DQT_NO_PCRE -DQT_BOOTSTRAPPED /Zc:wchar_t- -DQMAKE_OPENSOURCE_E
    29. DITION project.cpp
    30. project.cpp
    31. d:\qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\qmake\project.h(45) : fatal error C1083: Can not open include file: 'qstringlist.h': No such file or directory
    32. NMAKE : fatal error U1077: '"F:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9.0\VC\BIN
    33. \cl.EXE"' : return code '0x2'
    34. Stop.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Why it says sources are in D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable? They should be in D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\src, aren't they? What path need I to set to %INCLUDE%? I think qstringlist.h must be from 4.6 package, not from 4.5.1. It located in D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable\src\corelib\tools - is it means i should add this path to %INCLUDE%? '
    There is a qt patch for windows on sourceforge, but there is no patch for 4.6 version

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    1) How did you run ./configure script?
    2) Do you have any QT specific environment variables set up?
    I'm a rebel in the S.D.G.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    1. I tried with many parameters. -static and shared, setting platform to win32-msvc and using default (QMAKESPEC not settted, but when run configure from Visual Studio command promt it does not ask platform). I run configure from D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable
    When run from another directory it says "Error: Creating a shadow build of Qt requires perl to be in the PATH environment". I dont want to install ActivePerl, I think it is not nessesary.
    2. Also, I tried with and without setting %QTDIR% to D:\Qt\qt-qt-4.6-stable. No result.

    I thought problem is in my system or studio environment, but 4.5.1 compiled fine. I compiled the same source (4.6 stable) on my openSuse 11 - it also configured and compiled fine.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Unset all those variables, run make confclean in Qt 4.6's directory and run it again
    I'm a rebel in the S.D.G.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Done, I' have unsetted all Qt-specific variables. I cannot do confclean -
    fatal error U1073: don't know how to make 'confclean' so, for clean resuts, I deleted folder, and unpacked tarball again.
    The same results. Any more ideas?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Ok, the next idea is that it doesn't like paths with spaces. Try to unpack it to C:\Qt4.6 or smth like this.
    I'm a rebel in the S.D.G.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    I have no spaces in path The problem is not in long names, qt 4.5.1 compiles fine.

    It cannot do the first step - to build qmake. Have you tried to build qt46 using msvs 2008? If you compiled it, please show your "set"

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Kyiv, Ukraine
    Posts
    418
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    I have never used MSVC for Qt compilation. The last version to compile was Qt 4.5.2 with MinGW
    I'm a rebel in the S.D.G.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Well, 4.5..x versions compiles also using msvc. But kinetik needs 4.6

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Try to install ActivePerl, ensure that perl.exe is in your PATH and rerun configure.exe.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Perl used for shadow build only. The problem is not in perl absense, it is obviously. The problem is that configure.exe works incorrect, so nmake cannot find sources to build qmake. I think 4.6 needs a windows patch, but there is no patch for this version yet.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Hmm... when I tried to build Qt Kinetic, I was having a problem like yours, with some headers missing (http://labs.trolltech.com/blogs/2009...game/#comments, I'm Gabriel Morrison). Installing Perl solved the problem.

  13. The following user says thank you to countercraft for this useful post:

    Iskander (27th August 2009)

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Almaty, Kazakhstan
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    countercraft, thank you very much. I installed ActivePerl, it seems build started. I believe it will ends in a few (or not few hours. I didn't thought problem was in perl, because configure says nothing about perl, and other Qt versions did not required perl. Did they changed a build process?

  15. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Building Qt 4.6 on Windows (msvs 2008)

    Perl is necessary for running the syncqt script, it's in the bin folder. This script searches the headers in the src folder and create them on the include folder. I believe that when the trolls release a new version of Qt, they already did run the syncqt script, and release the tarballs with the headers in the right place. But we are getting it from GIT... so I believe that we need to run syncqt by ourselves.

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Building a sqldriver (QIBASE) in windows msvc++2008
    By ProTonS in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th July 2009, 16:39
  2. Building Qt 4.5.2 with GCC 4.3.0 on Windows Vista
    By piotr.dobrogost in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th July 2009, 20:16
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th June 2009, 16:09
  4. Failure when building QT on Windows with MinGW
    By sharon in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd August 2007, 13:38
  5. Building for Windows
    By qball2k5 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th March 2006, 06:34

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts