Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Can't build qwt with visual studio

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Can't build qwt with visual studio

    Hi, I have an issue with qwt designer plugin. I'm working on windows and the instructions says i have to run
    qmake qwt.pro
    nmake
    from visual studio prompt. All is built but qt creator refuses to load plugin because it was built with mingw. So I install qt-vs addin 1.1.5, configure it and load qwt.pro in visual studio (2008). Now I get this error
    The following error occoured. Unable to find. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x80030002 (STG_E_FILENOTFOUND)) (at EnvDTE.SolutionClass.Open(String FileName) at Trolltech.Qt4VS2008.QtProjectLib.ProjectImporter.I mportSolution(FileInfo mainInfo, String qtVersion)).

    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    I have no idea for your specific problem, but maybe this site can help: qwt with VisualStudio

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    mmm, I can't read german

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    ... from visual studio prompt.
    Did you build Qwt completely with a Qt version that was build with Visual Studio ?

    Better uninstall your Qt/MinGW completely and restart your Qwt build from scratch ( remove the Qwt directory and unzip a fresh one )

    qmake qwt.pro
    nmake
    You forgot to do "nmake install"

    So I install qt-vs addin 1.1.5, configure it and load qwt.pro in visual studio (2008).
    The crash indicates a problem of your Qt environment - but even if everything would be o.k. there is no reason to load qwt.pro, when you already have built Qwt.

    Uwe

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 68 Times in 66 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrik View Post
    mmm, I can't read german
    sorry, I didn't looked at the language in the link. I knew that it helped me setting up qwt... most of my stored programming bookmarks are in English.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    Did you build Qwt completely with a Qt version that was build with Visual Studio ?
    I have downloaded this (http://get.qt.nokia.com/qtsdk/qt-sdk...ce-2010.04.exe). I did not build Qt sdk. I have to build qwt from source because I can't find a binary version and I have to use Visual Studio because qt designer will not load qwt plugin because it (designer) wants a plugin compiled with VS while my plugin is compiled with mingw, even if I follow VS instructions and use nmake

    Better uninstall your Qt/MinGW completely and restart your Qwt build from scratch ( remove the Qwt directory and unzip a fresh one )
    if I uninstall Qt I'll be missing qmake.exe which is necessary for the first step and nmake will complain because it cannot find g++

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrik View Post
    I have downloaded this (http://get.qt.nokia.com/qtsdk/qt-sdk...ce-2010.04.exe). I did not build Qt sdk. I have to build qwt from source because I can't find a binary version and I have to use Visual Studio because qt designer will not load qwt plugin because it (designer) wants a plugin compiled with VS while my plugin is compiled with mingw, even if I follow VS instructions and use nmake
    So the reason for your problems is identified: you are mixing binaries built with Visual Studio with others built with MinGW.

    Uwe

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    So the reason for your problems is identified: you are mixing binaries built with Visual Studio with others built with MinGW.

    Uwe
    Yes, that's why I need to know how to build qwt with visual studio. Apparently Qt SDK was built with VS even if it ships with mingw

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    3,309
    Thanked 879 Times in 827 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    You could try something like "qmake -spec win32-msvc2010" but ...

    I'm sure you need to have a clean Qt installation - no MinGW, Visual Studio mishmash. Then remove your QWT installation and install it again following the instructions in the INSTALL file. When you execute the right qmake from the right Qt installation it will generate a Makefile that builds Qwt with Visual Studio.

    I know this sounds boring but please don't insist on your bad installation. But if - better continue on a Qt related forum. You will have this problem with any project you want to build with qmake.

    Uwe

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    Quote Originally Posted by Uwe View Post
    You could try something like "qmake -spec win32-msvc2010" but ...
    that did the trick

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Can't build qwt with visual studio

    I know this thread is a bit old, but I'm having the exact same problem.

    From the QT Command promptI ran:
    Qt Code:
    1. qmake -spec win32-msvc2010
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Then from the Visual Studio Command Prompt I ran:
    Qt Code:
    1. nmake
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    Nmake compiled a bunch of stuff but ultimately failed with the error:
    Qt Code:
    1. linking ..\lib\qwt5.dll
    2. LINK : fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'c:\Qt\2010.05\qt\lib\QtGui4.
    3. lib'
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    I am using the normal windows binary for the QT IDE / Creator found at http://qt.nokia.com/downloads/sdk-windows-cpp.

    Do you mind providing more details on how you got this to work?

Similar Threads

  1. Build Qt3d with Visual Studio 2005
    By emrares in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th November 2010, 10:54
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th October 2009, 19:44
  3. Can't add build path to Visual Studio Add-In
    By laserbeak43 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st May 2009, 09:41
  4. Can i use visual studio 2005 to build Qt applications?
    By coder1985 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th November 2007, 18:23
  5. Build application using visual studio 6 ?
    By aamer4yu in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd October 2006, 10:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.