Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Help with QT shortcuts?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Question Help with QT shortcuts?

    Hi there. I'm trying to make it so that the "aButton" will be pressed when the user presses the a key on the keyboard.

    This is my code thus far. It compiles and runs, but pressing the a key on the keyboard does nothing.

    QPushButton *aButton=new QPushButton("&aButton", this);

    QShortcut aShortCut = new QShortcut(QKeySequence(Qt::Key_A), this);
    QObject::connect(aShortCut, SIGNAL(clicked()), this, SLOT(toggle()));

    Any ideas why it's not working?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    you are connecting the wrong slot of the wrong object. Infact everything is wrong.

    try this.
    Qt Code:
    1. QObject::connect(aShortCut, SIGNAL(activated()), aButton, SLOT(animateClick()));
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    by the way,, the "&aButton" should be working as auto shortcut

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    Mmmkay. I changed the QObject line like you said and it still isn't working.

    Not sure what you mean by "should be working as auto shortcut."

    I'm a newbie to QT, so I apologize ahead of time for my lack of knowledge.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    read the documentation of QShortCut and QAbstractButton, you just might be doing a little mistake here and there....
    Can you post a minimal compilable program reproducing the problem?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    128
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    coimbatore,India
    Posts
    314
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 47 Times in 43 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    hi,
    as totem said,
    Qt Code:
    1. aButton->setShortcut(Qt::Key_A)
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    is the easiest way

    Bala

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    Okay, so I changed the lines to this:

    Qt Code:
    1. QPushButton *aButton=new QPushButton("&aButton", &w);
    2.  
    3. aButton->setShortcut(Qt::Key_A);
    4. // QObject::connect(aShortCut, SIGNAL(activated()), aButton, SLOT(animateClick()));
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    (I commented out that last line....I think I was supposed to do that now that I'm using the aButton->setShortcut. Still issue though. It compiles and runs, but the aButton isn't clicked when I press the letter a on my keyboard.

    Any other ideas?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Posts
    277
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    are you connecting to any signals at all?
    Qt-4.7.3 | Gentoo ~amd64 | KDE-4.7
    Aki IRC Client for KDE4 | Qt Documentation

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    I was before with that last line that I commented out...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    India
    Posts
    1,042
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 133 Times in 128 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    You need to provide a minimal compilable example reproducing the problem.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: Help with QT shortcuts?

    I'd rather not just post it on here, as it is a school project. Perhaps I can private message it to you? Which files would you need to be able to see the problem?

Similar Threads

  1. enable shortcuts using Designer
    By szisziszilvi in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th January 2011, 14:03
  2. qml key shortcuts
    By antialias_forum in forum Qt Quick
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd December 2010, 14:45
  3. Shortcuts for QActions...
    By ericV in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th October 2009, 13:18
  4. Pb with shortcuts on Mac OS
    By mourad in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd May 2008, 19:22
  5. Creatin Key Pad shortcuts
    By Kapil in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th May 2006, 05:50

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.