Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can't see container contents, QStrings when debugging

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    22
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Can't see container contents, QStrings when debugging

    I've used many different versions of Qt over the years and this is a first. Debugging in QtCreator 2.3.1 with gdb 7.3.1, debugging works great except that when I'm in the 'Locals and Expressions' tab I can't see the internal data of Qt or STL containers, just the address of the data segment. I got a suggestion from SO to be sure to rebuild the debugger helper, but But Tools -> Options -> Qt4 has 'Not Needed' next to GDB Helper. I'm using Qt 4.7.3. Anyone know how I can make it so I can see container contents again?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Can't see container contents, QStrings when debugging

    I'm hoping someone has a solution for this. I just upgraded from QtCreator 2.0.1 to QtCreator 2.3.1. I downloaded the bin updater for 64 bit linux. Also, I'm using 4.6.2 of the Qt SDK ( not something I get to choose or change.) to build my applications. It appeared from the website that the app is still supposed to work with earlier version of QtSDK.

    On the up side the I'm getting more debugging information on inhouse data types than I got with 2.0.1. (Which I love and would prefer not to abandon.) However, I'm not getting any of the Qt types. Unfortunately, I'm not getting any information for the Qt objects. The typical... QString is just diaplaying an address problem.

    In version 2.0.1 of QtCreator, I could generate the Debugger helpers. But when I look at the Help details it says "Cannot be compiled" for all of the QML sections and "Not needed" for the GDB Helper.

    How do I get this turned back on?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    140
    Thanks
    22
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can't see container contents, QStrings when debugging

    So it turns out that the debugging helper for later versions of QtCreator (don't know if it's QtCreator or gdb, but anyway) requires the installation of python developer tools. This may be taken care of with installation defaults in later versions of Ubuntu, but for 10.04
    sudo apt-get install python-dev
    , and subsequently rebuilding gdb, is required.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Can't see container contents, QStrings when debugging

    Total newbie alert!

    I am having the same issue with QtSDK 4.7.4 windows install and Windows/MinGW debugging. I tried uninstalling the QtSDK, installing Python 2.7 from http://www.python.org/ and then re-installing QtSDK for windows. I can still run all the examples but I cannot drill into any of the Qt objects.

    I found directions for building Python and GDB at http://developer.qt.nokia.com/wiki/QtCreator_Build_Gdb but I am new to this and had difficulties following the instructions - should I persevere or is there another likely solution?

    In QtCreator I am running on the SDK install default debugger options - is there something I should be customizing in the options?

Similar Threads

  1. Can't declare more than 7 QStrings ?!?!?!
    By ruben.rodrigues in forum Newbie
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st July 2010, 14:42
  2. concatenating path QStrings
    By rbp in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th December 2008, 04:46
  3. Quick ? about qSort(Container & container)
    By JimDaniel in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th December 2007, 11:20
  4. QSettings on QStrings
    By OriginalCopy in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th November 2007, 10:57
  5. dynamic matrix of QStrings
    By QiT in forum Newbie
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 4th April 2007, 09:26

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.