Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    83

    Default Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    Hye

    I'm trying to compile commercial version of Qt-4.2.2 under visual studio 2005 on windows vista(32-bit). I have installed service pack1 for visual studio 2005 and vista update for visual studio 2005 (and it works fine). The problem is when I try to configure installation (before running nmake) i get an error from the microsoft compile (when trying to compile qmake). I have already set QMAKESPEC to win32-msvc2005 and the path c:\qt\4.2.2\bin.

    Does anyone know how to solve this problem? (qt should be compatible with vista-says trolltech)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    Could you post the exact error message?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    Did you apply the patch to get Qt to build on VS2005-SP1? Microsoft introduced a regression into SP1. Qt wasn't the only product that was affected. I understand that Boost and ACE also got hit.

    You can get the patch at:
    http://www.trolltech.com/company/new...-18.5819317947

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    I'm sure that this is the problem @Brandybuck. Still I'm having problems applying the patch. It doesn't seem to do the trick for me (I have applied the changes like it says in the link:
    386a387,388
    > typedef typename QHash<Key, T>::iterator DummyHashIterator;
    >
    841,842c843,844
    < inline typename QHash<Key, T>::iterator replace(const Key &key, const T &value);
    < inline typename QHash<Key, T>::iterator insert(const Key &key, const T &value);
    ---
    > inline typename DummyHashIterator replace(const Key &key, const T &value);
    > inline typename DummyHashIterator insert(const Key &key, const T &value);

    I interpreted this like that:
    add typedef typename QHash<Key, T>::iterator DummyHashIterator;
    add inline typename DummyHashIterator replace(const Key &key, const T &value);
    inline typename DummyHashIterator insert(const Key &key, const T &value);
    comment inline typename QHash<Key, T>::iterator replace(const Key &key, const T &value),inline typename QHash<Key, T>::iterator insert(const Key &key, const T &value);

    I don't know what all the numbers represent: I only managed to decode the last one: 386a387,388
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    I think I have solved the problem with qhash.h but the problem still remains with qmap.h. I applied the patch to qmap.h (like it says in the link) but it doesn't work. Any ideas??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    Could someone who applied this patch post how he did-it (maybe attach qmap.h and qhash.h) I would really appreciate it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Mountain View, California
    Posts
    489
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 74 Times in 54 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    You've interpreted the patch correctly. Unfortunately Windows doesn't include a standard patch utility, or this could all be applied for you. The numbers are the line numbers affected. The < mark the lines in the old file, and the > mark the lines in the new.

    I don't have my Windows system available at the moment, so I can't give you my patched files. You may want to write to support@trolltech.com and ask them for pre-patched files. You're paying for support, you might as well use it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    83

    Default Re: Qt-4.2.2 qmake won't compile under visual studio 2005 on vista

    I solved it. Thanks for all the help.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt + gSoap + Visual Studio 2005
    By xgoan in forum General Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th December 2007, 19:27
  2. problem with linking
    By mickey in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 12th August 2006, 22:41
  3. Can't compile programs in Visual Studio.net 2005
    By xgoan in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th July 2006, 15:10
  4. Qt 4.1.0 on Visual Studio 2005
    By nErnie in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th July 2006, 01:56
  5. Qt Designer & Visual Studio 2005
    By pSiCho in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2006, 14:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.