Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    I have made an application in QT which deals with images and videos and I want to process it through my Nvidia graphics card.
    I have installed the nvidia drivers,but I do not know how to use my graphics processor for the QT Application.
    Can someone me tell how to use this functionality?

    P.s: using ubuntu 12.04 64 bit

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    What do you mean by "process through a graphics card"?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    New Delhi, India
    Posts
    2,467
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 334 Times in 317 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    If your meaning is limited to rendering images / video via graphics card, I guess you can use QtOpenGL.

    But if you want to do processing using card, I dont think there is support for that,, although there was a project names QtOpenCL.

    Hope this helps

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    By "process", I mean to render images and videos through a graphics card.
    I went through QtOpenGL , it looks like I have to implement all its libraries,many changes in my existing way. Isn't there any easy way out?
    In windows MFC ,I developed a similar application and I had to just right click the executable and select "run with graphics processor" and it does the required work.
    Is any such option available here??

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    Qt4 or Qt5? By the way, do you know what this "run with graphics processor" function really does? The option is not related to your "MFC application" but to your system's graphics card drivers.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Graz, Austria
    Posts
    8,416
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 1,544 Times in 1,494 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    As far as I know the "run with graphics processor" is available only on systems that have two GPUs, one integrated and one separate.
    It allows to force the rendering to go through the separate one, usually an AMD or Nvidia one, while the integrated is usually Intel.

    It does nothing to the program itself, unless the program or its libraries perform capability detection and have different rendering paths.

    Cheers,
    _

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Bangalore,India
    Posts
    64
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    I am using Qt4.I have two GPU's,one integrated intel and one seperate NVIDIA GPU.
    So As I see this,I need to implement the OpenGL libraries in QT through QtOpenGL.
    Looks like a lot of changes are required in my existing code.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: enable nvidia graphics card for QT applications

    You don't have to do anything. Just run your application with -graphicssystem opengl switch. However be aware this won't magically make your faster GPU process the application, it will just make the application use OpenGL calls for rendering. As everyone here said before, the option you speak of is implemented by your graphics card drivers. Both your Intel and your NVidia chips are able to process OpenGL calls.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. NVidia compatibility
    By Caius Aérobus in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th February 2013, 13:00
  2. udateGL() with Nvidia&ATI
    By bahbah30 in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th January 2011, 18:49
  3. NVIDIA CUDA + Qt
    By redscorp in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th October 2010, 18:35
  4. Qt and graphics card
    By leoalvesmachado in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21st May 2010, 21:57
  5. QGLWidget, ATI & NVIDIA
    By pir in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th September 2006, 13:06

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.