+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Distant debugging can't step into external debug libraries.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Distant debugging can't step into external debug libraries.

    Hello everyone,

    I'm using QtCreator under linux Ubuntu 14.04, and I cross compile my program to run on an ARM platform.

    My program compilation and execution work correctly.

    I use the remote debugging inside QtCreator and realize that it won't (can't) step into my own external libraries:
    - When debugging step by step, I can't get inside my external libraries.
    - When I set a fatal exception inside my library, and the exception is raised, the debugger stops in pt-raise.c, but can't show parent functions (they appear as '??' and the disassembler displays assembler code).


    All of my code (main program and libraries) are built with the same debug settings (same kit in settings of QtCreator).
    The selected build configuration is debug.
    The created libraries are suffixed with the 'd' letter, and the command 'objdump --syms' shows all symbols inside my libraries.
    If I remove the libraries from the ARM platform, the debugger doesn't start and tells me that it can't find the needed libraries.

    *** Edit ***

    Also, when I debug the code on my development machine, the debugger doesn't have any problem stepping into the external libraries code.

    *** Edit ***

    I'm stuck and don't have anymore idea; does this issue ring a bell ?


    Thank you.
    Last edited by bouchebeu; 22nd September 2014 at 15:31. Reason: updated contents

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Distant debugging can't step into external debug libraries.

    Did you find the solution to your problem. I'm running into similar issue.

    I have backend code and QT UI is attaching to it on the ARM processor. I have created the UI on the QT creator and deploying it on the ARM board. Now I'm trying to attach to the UI process, but it says Unable to find dynamic linker breakpoing function. GDB will be unable to debug shared library initializers and track explicitly loaded dynamic code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Distant debugging can't step into external debug libraries.

    Hi.
    I have the same problem as bouchebeu. Remote debug of application works fine, but I cant step into my libraries. When I try it on my local PC, everything works fine but remote debug cant step into libraries. Can anyone help please?

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    15
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Distant debugging can't step into external debug libraries.

    copy the root file system to the host system, I used /opt/target/root. One needs at least /lib and /user directtories from the target
    Add the following in the options in tools/options/debugger GDB(tab) Additional Startup commands

    set sysroot /opt/target/root/
    handle SIGILL pass nostop noprint

    apply and try again
    Note GDB should also moan on start-up, add the above and it might disappear

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows Android

    Default Re: Distant debugging can't step into external debug libraries.

    Quote Originally Posted by creatron View Post
    set sysroot /opt/target/root/
    thanks, works fine with Qt 5.8!

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. How to step into libQtWebKit while debugging?
    By andrey-rogozhnikov in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th December 2013, 10:43
  2. Release libraries bigger than debug libraries
    By JPNaude in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 4th April 2013, 09:30
  3. Qt Creator How to step into Thirdparty library source code while debugging?
    By vangaurd in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th September 2012, 13:13
  4. Qt Creator Debugging step by step through else rich code does not work
    By Terjoqu in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th March 2010, 22:44
  5. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22nd March 2006, 20:06

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts