Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Create exe file for Windows with libraries

  1. #1

    Default Create exe file for Windows with libraries

    Hi
    I wrote simple an application. The compiler created exe file etc
    Unfortunately to the same catalogue I have to copy many dll files for proper working of my aplication.
    After copying The aplication starts well on my computer (windows7) but for example in another computer It does not work (It is needed to copy more dll files)
    I use MinGW 4.9.1 32bit compiler.

    I would like to include to my exe files all libraries which are needed for proper working,

    Please give me a link to a tutorial (I have read many tutorials but there were quite old and it did work well with my QT5.4

    Regards
    Artur

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hyderabad, India
    Posts
    1,882
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 452 Times in 435 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    15

    Default Re: Create exe file for Windows with libraries

    When you know how to do it then you may do it wrong.
    When you don't know how to do it then it is not that you may do it wrong but you may not do it right.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Create exe file for Windows with libraries

    Hi

    Thank you for help.

    It seems to be that I do not understand something.

    In that instructions there is point
    "cd C:\path\to\Qt
    configure -static <any other options you need>"

    I install QT here C:\Qt and in my catalogue there is no file configure where exactly should the file be ?

    Regards
    Artur

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Alameda, CA, USA
    Posts
    5,230
    Thanks
    302
    Thanked 864 Times in 851 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Create exe file for Windows with libraries

    "configure" is used only if you are trying to build the Qt libraries from the Qt source code. You don't need to do that if all you want to do is to deploy an application you have already built using an installed version of Qt.

    Skip everything in that article except the last section: "Creating the Application Package". That's the part you need to follow. If you are using a standard install of Qt, then you are using shared libraries not static ones. You need to make sure all of the required Qt DLLS are deployed with your app, and you also need to make sure the qwindows.dll library is in the platforms subdirectory of your app as well.

Similar Threads

  1. Qt libraries 5.0.0 for Windows (VS 2010 406 MB) - Installation
    By gtnoob in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th January 2013, 15:11
  2. Linux vs Windows 3rd party libraries
    By skepticalgeek in forum Newbie
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th August 2010, 01:23
  3. Qt + Portmidi in Windows... libraries problem
    By hipogrito in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th June 2009, 00:01
  4. Problem with the Qt libraries on Windows
    By XavierQT in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th May 2009, 06:05
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th September 2007, 14:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.