Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to deploy QT application

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default How to deploy QT application

    As a newbie, I would like to run the whole flow before I start coding my target application.
    I followed the youtube tutorial https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AgZ8mWsyGOw and created the PushMe simple application.
    I tried to follow also the deployment guide here but I probably miss something because the
    namke
    and
    qmake
    were not recoginized (perhaps they are not on my path).

    The target of course is to deliver my application to a 3rd party, on Windows machine.

    Is there a simple push button "release it" feature?
    That will prepare all that needs to prepare, package all there is to package?

    Thanks
    Yigal

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: How to deploy QT application

    You cannot deploy the application before you build it. Both the commands you tried are related to building the software; the first (nmake) is the make utility from a Microsoft compiler, the second from Qt writes an input file for the first. Both would need to be installed, matching (i.e. Qt built with the MS compiler), and in the path (although your IDE can hide some of that).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to deploy QT application

    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisW67 View Post
    You cannot deploy the application before you build it. Both the commands you tried are related to building the software; the first (nmake) is the make utility from a Microsoft compiler, the second from Qt writes an input file for the first. Both would need to be installed, matching (i.e. Qt built with the MS compiler), and in the path (although your IDE can hide some of that).
    When you mention "build" - is this the same "build" term that appears when I press the green arrow?
    If so, than build was done, and I also got two sub directories: debug & release

    As for "qmake" & "nmake": aren't they installed with QTcreator? if not, from where should I install them?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    7,729
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits
    17

    Default Re: How to deploy QT application

    If you installed a Qt bundle from qt.io and opted to install a Qt library (the default is to do this for a MingW built library) then there will be a qmake executable in the Qt library bin folder. To use a Microsoft compiler you have to select and install a Qt library built with the same version of the Microsoft compiler you intend to use (i.e. 2010, 2012,...) You configure Qt Creator to find the library and compiler to use in the Kits settings (Tools, Options, C++, Kits)... then select that kit to build.

    nmake is not part of Qt, it is part of the Microsoft Visual Studio/SDK version you have installed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: How to deploy QT application

    I am not sure I follow, but I installed MinGW 32 bits.
    What do I need to do in order to deploy my program to another computer?

Similar Threads

  1. I cannot deploy my application
    By 8Observer8 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 17th December 2013, 19:13
  2. Has anybody ever able to deploy qt application?
    By Tarun in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 22nd February 2010, 09:08
  3. how to deploy my application
    By yuvaraj.yadav in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th April 2009, 10:21
  4. Deploy Qt application on Mac OS X
    By giandrea77 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th February 2009, 09:34
  5. Deploy Qt application on Mac OS X 10.4 Tiger
    By mourad in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th March 2008, 16:20

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.