Thread: Where/ how do I set Mkspec : default?

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Default Where/ how do I set Mkspec : default?

Hello All,

I'm new to the Qt and raspberry pi. I was trying to install Qt on raspberry pi following the instructions on wiki.qt.io. Could someone please help me with where / how do I set Mkspec : default at? I tried couple of posts but couldn't really figure out what to do. If anyone can help me with this it would be a great help. Thanks in advance.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,610 Times in 1,537 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits

Default Re: Where/ how do I set Mkspec : default?

You can change the make spec being used by qmake using the QMAKESPEC environment variable, the -spec command line option, and possibly make that permanent with qmake -set. The default normally matches the built library for a good rason though.

What part of which instructions are asking you to do this? Please provide a link to the wiki page and step.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

Hello ChrisW67,

Here's the link " https://wiki.qt.io/Apt-get_Qt4_on_the_Raspberry_Pi " that I'm following and in the last but one section "I added a gcc toolchain" part it says Mkspec: default. I couldn't figure that out. I'm not able to launch Qt creator from Menu>Programming>Qt Creator. I need to issue the command "sudo qtcreator -noload Welcome" on the terminal. And also the Welcome plugin which we find it to the left is missing on Qt creator when it opens. I'm sorry to overwhelm you with my questions. I request for your guide in setting up Qt. I'm trying learn and get some understanding about it. I really appreciate your valuable time.

Thanks
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows
    Wiki edits