Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    Folks,
    There is something odd happening with my Qt application. When I deploye it using the utility "windeployqt.exe" it seems to behave differently than when I run it within the Qt-Creator IDE. I am compiling against version 5.5.1. The problem is when I run the deployed application it eventually stops receiving UDP packets but when I run it within the IDE it doesn't quit; it runs for days without stopping. I know the UDP packets are still coming in because I can see them on Wireshark. The packet rate is 100 packets per second. When I reduce the packet rate down to 10 packets per second, both the deployed as well as the non-deployed versions run indefinitely.

    I know there used to be a problem with the UDP socket interface where the socket stopped receiving packets (AUT-20) but I know this was fixed in 5.5.1 and 5.6.0.

    Has anyone run into this?

    regards,
    Orlando

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    So the application keeps running but it doesn't receive data or does the application crash?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    The application doesn't crash. It simply stops receiving UDP packets even though packets are still coming in.

    Orlando

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    Are you reading those packets as they come in? What does hasPendingDatagrams() return?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    3
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    Yes, I am reading the UDP packets as they come in. The data out of the packets looks correct; it's just that eventually the socket stops receiving the packets. There are no further datagrams. Wireshark still shows packets coming in from the source but the application is no longer receiving them.

    Orlando

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    Can you prepare a minimal compilable example reproducing the problem? Which version of Qt is your application linked against?
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Orleans, Louisiana
    Posts
    791
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    MacOS X

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    Might want to checkout this bug report.
    I write the best type of code possible, code that I want to write, not code that someone tells me to write!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1
    Qt products
    Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    Hi, I have same problem as yours.

    Since running in Qt Creator is working well, but not working by using the execution file generated by windeployqt.exe. Let me so confused.

    And finally I check the firewall rule in window. And enable the rule, all work out OK.

    My computer is not in English, but you can find the setting in Firewall -> Advance setting in Windows.

    Just apply all these three options, and try again, should be working.
    qt udp setting.jpg
    Last edited by misowei; 18th December 2017 at 05:32.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    2
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: My deployed Qt Stops receiving UDP packets...

    @misowei, What make you think that we can read chinese?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th March 2016, 02:16
  2. QT Apps deployed in IOS8 crash
    By stretch1790 in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22nd September 2014, 13:55
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th February 2014, 11:39
  4. Reading all UDP packets
    By moron in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th May 2008, 15:51
  5. curious: where all is Qtopia deployed??
    By nupul in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th April 2006, 23:14

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.