Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can you specify where to create the .qrc file?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Can you specify where to create the .qrc file?

    Hello,

    Is there a way to specify where the output of RCC (the .qrc file) should be placed/created?

    My .pro file has the following two lines:

    Qt Code:
    1. MOC_DIR = ./.tmp
    2. OBJECTS_DIR = ./.tmp
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    However, when I compile my application, the resulting .qrc appears in the base directory along with the executable. I've looked through the documentation for QMAKE and RCC, and also online, but haven't found solution.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can you specify where to create the .qrc file?

    What do you mean by "the resulting .qrc"?
    A qrc file is an input file, not a result file.
    In the qrc file you specify the resources you want compiled in to your project.
    You specify the location of your qrc file with RESOURCES = <path_to_qrc_file>
    http://doc.qt.io/qt-5/resources.html
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Can you specify where to create the .qrc file?

    Sorry, I confused terms. I was referring to the output file generated from the .qrc file.

    The processing of an XXXX.qrc file generates a qrc_XXXX.cpp file. The latter file appears in the base directory along with the executable. Does the project file support and option to direct where this intermediate file should be generated (like it does for object and moc files)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kraków, Poland
    Posts
    1,536
    Thanked 284 Times in 279 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Can you specify where to create the .qrc file?

    RCC_DIR = the directory where all intermediate resource files should be placed

  5. The following user says thank you to Lesiok for this useful post:

    SpiceWeasel (4th April 2017)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    14
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Can you specify where to create the .qrc file?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lesiok View Post
    RCC_DIR = the directory where all intermediate resource files should be placed
    Wow, I can't believe I missed that. I went through the qmake manual but must have skipped right over it.

    Thanks very much, that solved my issue.

Similar Threads

  1. How to create a .sis file?
    By mport9491 in forum Qt Quick
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2nd September 2011, 10:45
  2. How to create a .sis file?
    By mport9491 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th August 2011, 19:05
  3. How to re-create .deb file ???
    By rickrvo in forum Newbie
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th February 2011, 16:49
  4. Create DLL file from Qt4
    By abghosh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd March 2010, 18:25
  5. how to create *.cpp file fm *.ui
    By Shuchi Agrawal in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th January 2007, 21:07

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.