Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: libstdcc++-6.dll Entry Point Not Found

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default libstdcc++-6.dll Entry Point Not Found

    hi i am using Qt5.9.1 with desktop mingw53_32 on windows 7 64 bit.
    my windows desktop application run very well in the ide environment, after deploy it using windeployqt and run i got this message

    "The program can't start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing from your computer .Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem"

    then i went on to copy this missing from the desktop mingw53_32 compiler bin file and paste it in same folder together with rest of the needed files.

    the following message surfaced

    "The procedure entry point _ZdaPvj could not be located in the dynamic link library libstdc++-6.dll" but this right there .

    may some please assist me.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: libstdcc++-6.dll Entry Point Not Found

    Run the application in the IDE again, and have a look at the loaded modules view.
    Find there which libstdc++-6.dll is used.
    Then make sure your application loads the same libstdc++-6.dll when running out side of the IDE, it could be you have two libstdc++-6.dll libs, one version build with MinGW and the other by MSVC.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    132
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android

    Default Re: libstdcc++-6.dll Entry Point Not Found

    Your application must link against the same standard lib as the Qt libraries. So you have to copy the library which is in the same directory where also the Qt libs are. This standard library used by the mingw compiler itself might not be compatible leading to issues like the message you've got.

    one version build with MinGW and the other by MSVC
    You're implying libstdc++, the C++ standard library of the GNU project, can be built with MSVC?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    10
    Thanks
    2
    Qt products
    Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: libstdcc++-6.dll Entry Point Not Found

    Quote Originally Posted by high_flyer View Post
    Run the application in the IDE again, and have a look at the loaded modules view.
    Find there which libstdc++-6.dll is used.
    Then make sure your application loads the same libstdc++-6.dll when running out side of the IDE, it could be you have two libstdc++-6.dll libs, one version build with MinGW and the other by MSVC.
    thank you for the help

    how do I make sure when running outside ide it loads libstdc++-6.dll from same source and the other thing how do I access the loaded modules view.

    hi

    well I am using qt examples which guess are clean codes and what is TDD?


    Added after 15 minutes:


    hi

    thank you very much I have just solved the problem few seconds ago I took libstdc++-6.dll from C:\Qt\Qt5.9.1\Tools\mingw530_32\bin.
    how do I automate the automate the system to pick it from there?

    thank you very much I have just solved the problem few seconds ago I took libstdc++-6.dll from C:\Qt\Qt5.9.1\Tools\mingw530_32\bin.
    how do I automate the automate the system to pick it from there?
    Last edited by gotronics; 16th July 2017 at 15:33.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: libstdcc++-6.dll Entry Point Not Found

    how do I automate the automate the system to pick it from there?
    Usually copying the DLL to c:\windows\system32 should be enough.
    If not, use regsvr32 to register the DLL.

    well I am using qt examples which guess are clean codes and what is TDD?
    The TDD text is part of my signature, not part of the post.
    You can start reading about TDD here: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Test-driven_development or search the books I mentioned in my signature.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

Similar Threads

  1. Entry point not found
    By feraudyh in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd July 2010, 12:12
  2. Procedure entry point not found
    By Ishmael in forum Newbie
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11th October 2009, 07:15
  3. Procedure entry point not found
    By Ishmael in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th October 2009, 17:57
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th August 2009, 17:35
  5. Entry point not found after compiling with Qt 4.2
    By mace in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th October 2006, 11:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.