Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Qt in given path was build using MinGW

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Qt in given path was build using MinGW

    Hi guys,

    I'm trying to set up the VS extension for QT but when I try to give the QT path it gives me this error.

    qt error.png

    I'm using VS 2017 Community edition and I've installed the latest QT version from here:
    QT open source download page

    How do I get this working?
    All the best,
    Dan

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt in given path was build using MinGW

    As the error says, you installed a MinGW built Qt.
    If you want to use Qt with Visual Studio you need to install a visual studio built Qt.
    As far as I can see on the download page only MSVC 2015 is supported, I don't know if MSVC 2017 will be compatible, you can try.
    http://download.qt.io/official_relea...5_64-5.6.2.exe
    Or, you can get the latest source of Qt5.9.1 and build it with your visual studio.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt in given path was build using MinGW

    Thank you for your reply.

    After removing the incorrect installed version and installed the correct one I was able to create a sample project.

    However, when trying to build it, I was prompted with the following list of errors. May this error be related with the fact that I've installed QT for VS 2015, while I have the VS 2017 installed?
    VS Errors.jpg
    Last edited by nimrod1989; 17th August 2017 at 21:35.
    All the best,
    Dan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Munich, Germany
    Posts
    4,714
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 418 Times in 411 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Qt in given path was build using MinGW

    Hard to tell as the screenshot is both hard to read due to low resolution and what I can make out is that it seems there is a problem with the include of the ui file.
    The errors indicate that include paths to math lib and probably others are missing.
    It has been years since I worked with visual studio, so I can't really say where you can check to make sure these include paths are set and correct.
    Either someone else here can help you with that, or you could also try a visual studio related forums.
    ==========================signature=============== ==================
    S.O.L.I.D principles (use them!):
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SOLID_...iented_design)

    Do you write clean code? - if you are TDD'ing then maybe, if not, your not writing clean code.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Romania
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Qt in given path was build using MinGW

    Hello guys,

    I was able to fix my environment after looking in the Output view, instead of the Error List:
    Qt Code:
    1. 1>------ Rebuild All started: Project: QtGuiApplication1, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
    2. 1>C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\VC\VCTargets\Platforms\x64\PlatformToolsets\v141\Toolset.targets(36,5): error MSB8036: The Windows SDK version 8.1 was not found. Install the required version of Windows SDK or change the SDK version in the project property pages or by right-clicking the solution and selecting "Retarget solution".
    3. 1>Done building project "QtGuiApplication1.vcxproj" -- FAILED.
    4. ========== Rebuild All: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 skipped ==========
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    Unfortunately, I need to make this change each time I create a new qt project.

    @high_flyer thank you once again for your help!
    All the best,
    Dan

Similar Threads

  1. Strange path during build-process
    By scary hallo in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th August 2016, 22:52
  2. Qt Creator How to build QtCreator with mingw?
    By FinderCheng in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th August 2011, 02:41
  3. Can't add build path to Visual Studio Add-In
    By laserbeak43 in forum Newbie
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st May 2009, 09:41
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 4th October 2007, 23:04
  5. MinGW Windows Library Search Path
    By zztop in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26th March 2006, 16:18

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.