Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: No Windows taskbar entry on new process.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default No Windows taskbar entry on new process.

    Greetings.

    I need to start an application using QProcess, and i need that application not to have a windows taskbar entry.

    How to do it? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Re: No Windows taskbar entry on new process.

    In case it needed further clarification:

    I would like the functionality which one normally achieves by applying the Qt::Tool window flag to a window, i.e. there isn't any taskbar entry for the window on the windows taskbar.

    Unfortunately this does not work if i try to start a new application, and try to apply it to that application's main window, so that application doesn't produce a taskbar entry at all.

    Please suggest another way.
    Thank you.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    250
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 49 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: No Windows taskbar entry on new process.

    I doubt that will be possible in Qt. That application is not under your control. You might be able to do it with WinAPI.

  4. The following user says thank you to pherthyl for this useful post:

    Khal Drogo (18th November 2007)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Re: No Windows taskbar entry on new process.

    Thank you.

    I ended up using the following, in case anybody else will need it:

    Qt Code:
    1. HWND appWindow = FindWindow(NULL, static_cast<LPCWSTR>(title.toStdWString().c_str()));
    2. long exStyle = GetWindowLong(appWindow, GWL_EXSTYLE);
    3. exStyle |= WS_EX_TOOLWINDOW;
    4. exStyle &= ~WS_EX_APPWINDOW;
    5. SetWindowLong(appWindow, GWL_EXSTYLE, exStyle);
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

Similar Threads

  1. Windws Taskbar Entry
    By December in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1st August 2007, 11:53
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th June 2007, 08:33

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.