Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Getting started on Windows

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Getting started on Windows

    Hello there.

    I've been having a great time developing in Qt on linux but now I need to develop for Windows as well. Here's what I did:

    Went to http://www.qtsoftware.com/downloads/...ev/windows-cpp and downloaded ftp://ftp.trolltech.no/qt/source/qt-...-src-4.4.3.zip

    Installed XP SP2 and Visual Studio 2008.

    As per the INSTALL file I added c:\qt4\bin to PATH, now I open a console and
    here's what happens...
    Qt Code:
    1. C:\QT4>echo %PATH%
    2. C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem;c:\PROGRA~1\MI6841~1\90\
    3. Tools\binn\;c:\qt4\bin
    4.  
    5. C:\QT4>dir bin
    6. Volume in drive C has no label.
    7. Volume Serial Number is 6053-6EC9
    8.  
    9. Directory of C:\QT4\bin
    10.  
    11. 18/01/2009 15:33 <DIR> .
    12. 18/01/2009 15:33 <DIR> ..
    13. 18/01/2009 15:33 4,349 findtr
    14. 18/01/2009 15:33 36,112 syncqt
    15. 2 File(s) 40,461 bytes
    16. 2 Dir(s) 10,764,660,736 bytes free
    17.  
    18. C:\QT4>configure
    19. Unable to detect the platform from environment. Use -platform command lineargument or set the QMAKESPEC environment variable and run configure again See the README file for a list of supported operating systems and compilers.
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 

    As far as I can tell, this should have worked. Any idea why not?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Getting started on Windows

    P.S. Visual Studio is installed and running correctly, I've been using it for non-Qt programs.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    38
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Getting started on Windows

    Oh, and PPS :-) if I type "configure -platform win32-msvc" it starts to churn but aborts when it can't find nmake (which is installed with Visual Studio 9)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Getting started on Windows

    Try to use the Visual Studio command prompt from Visual Studio tools.
    J-P Nurmi

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th January 2009, 09:03
  2. Opening text file fails after autostartup on windows
    By yogourta in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th October 2008, 03:52
  3. Windows not appearing in XP.
    By beardybloke in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th October 2007, 17:32
  4. converting unix exe to windows binary
    By deekayt in forum General Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th September 2006, 01:00
  5. MDI windows without QWorkspace
    By Big Duck in forum Newbie
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th June 2006, 17:15

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.