Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Recommended Update Procedure

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Recommended Update Procedure

    I've always been curious what the recommend update procedure should be. It seems each release of Qt creates a new folder under the root C:\Qt\ folder. For example I had

    C:\Qt\4.4.2
    C:\Qt\2009.02

    The reason I ask is this...

    I had gotten a trial version of the commercial 4.4.2 and created a little test program. For the last several months I haven't worked on it but with the new 4.5.1 out under LGPL I decided to pick up Qt again. The first thing I did before installing the qt-sdk-win-opensource-2009.02.1.exe was to uninstall 4.4.2. After that I installed the new SDK with no errors other than at the very end it says "Could not open INI file." but still completes the installation. Perhaps there is a problem there?

    Anyways, when I reload my older (4.4.2 based) solution in VS2005 and try to compile I get,

    ERROR: Can't find the Qt version that's associated with this project.

    NOTE: I also have the QT Visual Studio Add-In (1.1) I noticed that my environment variable was pointing QTDIR=C:\Qt\4.4.2\ so that was the first problem the installer didn't seem to fix. So I repointed it to C:\Qt\2009.02 (I've also tried C:\QT\2009.02\qt) and restarted VS2005. Still I get the same error recompiling.

    After reading through some forum postings I went to the the Qt Menu in VS2005 and went to QT Options. Under QT version nothing is listed. So I clicked the Add button and browsed to the folder where Qt is installed. The problem is the OK button is always disbled no matter what directory I am in.

    So I guess my overall question is how should I have CORRECTLY updated from 4.4.2 (commercial demo) to 4.5.1 LGPL? Also is there any way to convert my project that was initially created in 4.4.2 to 4.5.1?

    Thanks in advanced!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    2009.02 is compiled against MinGW, not Visual Studio. You have to rebuild it against Visual Studio if you want to use this compiler.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    Ahh, I guess thats why all the library files were .a instead of .lib.

    However I curious what you do if there is a new update out that you want to upgrade to. Do you install them side by side and just switch the environemnt variable QTDIR?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    You install them side by side and use different qmake (or run visual studio with a differently setup path).
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  5. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    GimpMaster (28th May 2009)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    Ok, I am going to uninstall everything. Reboot. Reinstall the SDK and compile it for VS2005 and then install Visual Studio Add-In. Then I'l be back to update.

    Thanks wysota.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    If you want to use Visual Studio then installing the SDK makes no sense. Download a source-only release of Qt 4.5 and build it against MSVC. The SDK is a compiler, an IDE and Qt and you only need the latter.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  8. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    Makes sense. I didn't know if there was anything additional in the SDK other than Qt Creator.

    So if I got just this:

    http://get.qtsoftware.com/qt/source/...-src-4.5.1.zip

    and the Visual Studio add-in 1.0.1 I should be good?

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    Yes. And you need Visual Studio as well, of course
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


  10. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas, USA
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    Quick update....after 4 hours of compiling i now have the SDk working and Visual Studio Add-in finally allowed me to add the folder under Qt->Qt Options.

    One problem I am currently having is that it did not build the QAXcontainer.lib/.dll was this because I needed to explicetly list it under the configuration.exe command line? Is there a simple way I can get compiled?

    Thanks


    *EDIT* - It looks like its only available in the commercial version. Not the open source. I hope they move it over....
    Last edited by GimpMaster; 28th May 2009 at 22:06.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: Recommended Update Procedure

    They will move it to LGPL.
    Your biological and technological distinctiveness will be added to our own. Resistance is futile.

    Please ask Qt related questions on the forum and not using private messages or visitor messages.


Similar Threads

  1. Stored procedure and ODBC
    By filya in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th March 2010, 08:40
  2. Problem calling stored procedure.. Help!
    By triperzonak in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15th March 2010, 08:34
  3. Problem in QProgressBar update
    By nikhilqt in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th March 2009, 10:20
  4. Qt Update project - Opinions wanted
    By pvdk in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th November 2008, 08:41
  5. QPainter update()
    By csvivek in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th March 2008, 09:42

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.