Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Migrating development XD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Migrating development XD

    Hi, i was progamming at home using mysql plugins, everything works fine at home, now i come to school and i want to use the plugin i built at home, what do i need to do? i have carried with me the qtsqlmysqld.dll (i forgot the other XD) i guees i have to configure and make -plugins Qt to use the mysql plugins isn't it?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    When i was preparing installation for our customer to use PSQL plugin i had to add to install folder among dependant QtCore.dll, QtGui.dll and QtSql.dll (and maybe what ever else you are using) folder called sqldrivers. Where your plugin should be located. But be aware of other possible dependencies of your mysql driver. E.g. PSQL plugin needs other dlls distributed with client's package of Postgres. But probably i answered different question. :-| I would say that for development it should be enough to put your plugin to plugins folder under QT install dir.
    Last edited by budul; 23rd November 2006 at 16:11.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    Uhm i make a connection to a remote mysql server so i dont need the server installed in the client do I?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    No no, i've just meant that e.g. PSQL plugin needs some dependant libraries from postrges clients pkg installation. Tool like depends (typically somewhere in VS install folders) should help you here. If this is the case.
    Last edited by budul; 23rd November 2006 at 16:20.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    Quote Originally Posted by chaosgeorge View Post
    Uhm i make a connection to a remote mysql server so i dont need the server installed in the client do I?
    No you don't, but still you need all of the libraries that QMYSQL plugin uses and you have to place the plugin in the proper subdirectory.

    Also you make sure that the plugin was built in the same mode that your application was built. If you have "release" version of your application, you need "release" version of the plugin (the one without "d" in filename).

  6. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    chaosgeorge (23rd November 2006)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    ok so i need to install mysql libraries dont i ? i only need the sources and add the path to the dependencies? or better placing the dependencies in the executable directory?
    thanks

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    As you need. It depends on you where you put additional mysql libraries. But ensure that you fulfil all needs of your plugin. And be aware of release/debug mix as Jacek mentioned. Good luck.

  9. The following user says thank you to budul for this useful post:

    chaosgeorge (23rd November 2006)

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    Quote Originally Posted by chaosgeorge View Post
    ok so i need to install mysql libraries dont i ? i only need the sources and add the path to the dependencies? or better placing the dependencies in the executable directory?
    IMO the safest way is to copy MySQL DLLs to the same directory where you executable is (note that the QMYSQL plugin itself has to be in a "sqldrivers" subdirectory).

    You can use Dependency Walker to check what MySQL DLLs that plugin needs, but beware that it might require more DLLs, as these can be loaded in the runtime.

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    guess what, i get a driver not loaded message, i managed to compile with plugin but running it i get that, i checked the plugin's dependencies with dependency walker and i got everything ok, so any suggestions? thanks

    btw do i need to add a path to some mysql directory in env vars?

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    ok it looks like qsqlmysql plugin does not need any libraries that come with the source of mysql, however to work with the Qt 4.2.1 i had to remake the plugin as I did with my home's 4.2.0, i dont think there is incompatibility with Qt versions because the plugin made in the 4.2.1 machine worked fine with my 4.2.0 at home, but i dont want to remake the plugin wherever i port my app, what could be the problem that i had to remake the plugin to work? mingw incompatibility? Qt? mysql drivers?

  13. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Migrating development XD

    One of the possible explanations it that Qt adds a "build key" to plugins and it refuses to load them if their key differs from the library key.

    http://doc.trolltech.com/4.2/plugins...#the-build-key

Similar Threads

  1. Qtopia host side development environment for ARM target.
    By hvreddy1110 in forum Qt for Embedded and Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th October 2006, 15:05

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.