Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    31
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Question again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    Hi,
    i know i m putting the same question again but i m sure that this time i m asking relevant information of Qt.
    i hope this time i m not wasting anyone's time by asking the similar ques again.
    i m making an MDI application.now if i m inheriting the child window fm QGraphicsView because i want 2D and 3D features(zooming,rotating an all..) for the child window. But here comes Open Cascade in the picture when i want to use Open cascade APIs to draw on the child windows.
    now my ques is how can i use the APIs of Open Cascade to draw images on the appln (or child window) made in Qt.
    i m using evaluation version of Qt 4.2.2 and Windows XP and Open Cascade 5.2 and Visual Studio C++ 6.0?
    i hope this time the ques is relevant to Qt too..

    thanks in advance for giving time to my Ques in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    You may use whatever API you want, but be prepared to loose some of Qt functionality then. You'll also have to do some acrobations with window attributes to be able to use other drawing APIs. See docs on widget attributes for details.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

  4. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    Shuchi Agrawal (22nd January 2007)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    31
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    so do u mean that by doing so i wil loose the property of cross platform in Qt? or is there any other loss of functionality which u mean?
    plz specify... and i could not find any sepearte doc on widget attributes.. plz help..
    I worked on windows Xp with Qt 4.2.2(Open Source Version) and MinGw
    now i am trying the same things on Fedora Core 5 (linux-gcc) and Qt 4.2.2 open source edition.

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    31
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    thanks jacek, but i have already visited these links earlier... the code given in this is helping but i m not able to execute those code so as to get an executable..
    I worked on windows Xp with Qt 4.2.2(Open Source Version) and MinGw
    now i am trying the same things on Fedora Core 5 (linux-gcc) and Qt 4.2.2 open source edition.

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    Quote Originally Posted by Shuchi Agrawal View Post
    the code given in this is helping but i m not able to execute those code so as to get an executable..
    What problems do you have the code mentioned in those threads?

    Have you tried this: http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/dolbey/QtOpenCascade/ ?

  8. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    Shuchi Agrawal (22nd January 2007)

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    Quote Originally Posted by Shuchi Agrawal View Post
    so do u mean that by doing so i wil loose the property of cross platform in Qt? or is there any other loss of functionality which u mean?
    It depends on the widgets used. If you want to paint on a QGraphicsView, you might loose some of its functionality, you'll surely loose functionality related to any rendering optimisations done by Qt, etc.

    and i could not find any sepearte doc on widget attributes.. plz help..
    http://doc.trolltech.com/latest/qt.h...Attribute-enum

  10. The following user says thank you to wysota for this useful post:

    Shuchi Agrawal (22nd January 2007)

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    31
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Unhappy Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    hi all,
    i m sending a very simplified sample code of drawing a box using Qt n open cascade..
    can any1 help with some better things in the code as its not working properly...
    near the menu item, its not filling the window..?

    all in one.txt
    in view.cpp : winId is giving runtime error
    I worked on windows Xp with Qt 4.2.2(Open Source Version) and MinGw
    now i am trying the same things on Fedora Core 5 (linux-gcc) and Qt 4.2.2 open source edition.

  12. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    Now I'm sure I've seen some of that code before but I can't remember where...

    Anyway did you fix your problem. I can't quite understand where you got to. If you say that the centralWidget is not filling the screen this looks like a problem relating to missing resize event handler - the latest code on my web site just uses this event to mark a "must be resized" flag for the next paint event as it saves a full repaint cycle during resize. (The latest code has now also been ported to Linux - Ubuntu Edgy). Or is the problem still in the winId code.

    Remember also that the QtOpenCascade demo was designed and tested with Open Cascade 6.1 if you've got working on 5.2 at all I'm impressed.

    If you've still got a problem post back here on the Open Cascade forum - I actually keep an eye on both but I've never been "famous" before.

    Pete

  13. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    31
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    thanks a lot PETE,
    i posted tht code in Qt forum too and someone replied that its working on his system so now i think there is some installation problem or any other issue..
    even i m not exactly able to figure out that where exactly the problem lies.
    I worked on windows Xp with Qt 4.2.2(Open Source Version) and MinGw
    now i am trying the same things on Fedora Core 5 (linux-gcc) and Qt 4.2.2 open source edition.

  14. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Posts
    97
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    At the top of the thread, you said you were using OCC 5.2 and VC++ 6.0, but now in your signature I see you're using OCC 6.1. Are you using the standard installed DLLs? If so, consider that it was compiled with VC++ 7.1 and uses the corresponding runtime libs.
    Have you tried recompiling all the OCC sources from scratch with VC++ 6.0, the dsw workspaces are in the ros/adm/win32 folder and the instructions for building them are in the documentation. Well worth a try, but it'll take some hours to complete (build the debug libs as well, but ignore DRAW unless you've got a tcl/tk distro - and you won't need WOK much either).

    Pete

  15. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    103
    Thanks
    31
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: again Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 but detailed...

    ya actually i was using OCC 5.2 earlier but as it didnt worked so i changed to OCC 6.1 and i m really sorry to update this change in my signature, which i did after you mentioned..
    i will try all what u said and let u know.. thanks a lot..
    I worked on windows Xp with Qt 4.2.2(Open Source Version) and MinGw
    now i am trying the same things on Fedora Core 5 (linux-gcc) and Qt 4.2.2 open source edition.

Similar Threads

  1. Open Cascade + Qt 4.2.2 ???
    By Shuchi Agrawal in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th January 2007, 04:00
  2. integrating Qt files in open cascade?
    By Shuchi Agrawal in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th January 2007, 05:27

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.