Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: not able to change Makefile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    102
    Thanks
    5
    Qt products
    Qt3
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Smile not able to change Makefile

    hii frenz,

    I have in my project a .pro and a Makefile.
    now to include necessary libraries i have to change the makefile and add the path to those libraries in it.

    after adding the path to the Makefile i just save it and from the terminal i run the make tool. but then the changes that i had made recently dont appear to work. again when i open the makefile i cant see any of the changes which i made and the previous makefile which was there appears.
    i am changing the makefile using the vi editor.
    i also tried chmod 777 Makefile but still the changes disappear and the original makefile appears everytime.

    its very necessary to include the libraries and their path in the Makefile without which it is not possible to compile the project.

    please tell me what do i do so that the changes to the Makefile dont disappear.
    There are 10 kinds of people in this world. Those who understand binary, and those who dont.

    regards
    shamik

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    300
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: not able to change Makefile

    If you use qmake, a new makefile is automatically created for you each time. You can't alter the makefile by hand because the changes would just disappear.

    Instead you have to put certain directives in the .pro file so that they are automatically included in the makefile each time.

    This page explains how for Qt 4: http://doc.trolltech.com/4.0/qmake-project-files.html

    I can't find the corresponding Qt 3 page. But I suspect it would work the same way.
    "The strength of a civilization is not measured by its ability to wage wars, but rather by its ability to prevent them." - Gene Roddenberry

Similar Threads

  1. makefile without using QMake
    By Rayven in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th April 2010, 22:04
  2. makefile troubles
    By Walsi in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12th April 2007, 15:12
  3. Can't change the text display of a QTreeview item.
    By johnny_sparx in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2nd June 2006, 01:03
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th March 2006, 20:22
  5. Problem with a makefile
    By Tweety in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15th February 2006, 19:34

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.