Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: application fails to launch

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default application fails to launch

    My program compiles nicely but I'm getting errors when trying to launch the program's .exe file.
    Windows flags: Application was unable to start correctly (0xc01500002).
    I tried using gdb to see what was happening and this is what I'm left with:
    Starting program: <dir>\program.exe
    [New thread 544.0xd30 ]
    Error: dll starting at 0x77150000 was not found.
    Error: dll starting at 0x75d70000 was not found.
    Error: dll starting at 0x77150000 was not found.
    Error: dll starting at 0x77270000 was not found.

    Program exited with code 0300005200002.
    You can't do that without a process to debug.


    I'm using the provided MinGW and gdb by trolltech; downloaded MinGW-gcc440_1.zip from ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/misc/.
    What could be causing this? TIA.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    You probably do not have required DLLs in your Path or in your application directory. You can check this with Dependency Walker. If it says that Qt DLLs are missing then add your Qt bin directory to the system Path.
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    72
    Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt/Embedded Qt Jambi
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Hi

    it seems you have downloaded zip file and extracted it and managed to build ur application as qmake will add required file path in your makefile and build successfully however you must have forgot to put Qt bin and mingw bin folder path in your PATH environment variable.

    Also if your application are using some plugin from Qt then you also need to trace them weather plugins are getting loaded or not.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    I'm not sure why you need MingW-gcc440_1.zip.

    Have you tried to download the Qt SDK for Windows?

    If you have specific reasons for your setup, try a simple program first.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Here's what I have in my environment variables.
    PATH: C:\MinGW\bin;C:\Qt\4.6.0\bin;C:\OpenCV\bin
    QTDIR: C:\Qt\4.6.0
    QMAKESPEC: make-g++

    btw, I'm able to run other qt applications. I have 2 multithreaded applications and they seem to share this same problem.

    @faldzip
    I googled for Dependency Walker, it doesn't seem to support Windows 7 x64.

    @schnitzel
    I'm working with a different library, OpenCV, other than Qt.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    why don't you just install Qt SDK for Windows, it includes mingw32.

    why the additional mingw-gcc440_1.zip download?

    No need to complicate things - right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Quote Originally Posted by schnitzel View Post
    why don't you just install Qt SDK for Windows, it includes mingw32.

    why the additional mingw-gcc440_1.zip download?

    No need to complicate things - right?
    I feel it's the other way around. I feel comfortable coding Qt in notepad++ and editing the .pro file to include the other library I'm working with.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Quote Originally Posted by freekill View Post
    I googled for Dependency Walker, it doesn't seem to support Windows 7 x64.
    I'm using it with no problem on Windows 7 x64.
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 37 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Quote Originally Posted by freekill View Post
    I feel it's the other way around. I feel comfortable coding Qt in notepad++ and editing the .pro file to include the other library I'm working with.
    I wasn't trying to force you to use Qt Creator... just taking it step by step, going from a known working configuration - that's all.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Quote Originally Posted by faldżip View Post
    I'm using it with no problem on Windows 7 x64.
    I'll give this a shot. Thanks.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    55
    Thanks
    4
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Quote Originally Posted by faldżip View Post
    You probably do not have required DLLs in your Path or in your application directory. You can check this with Dependency Walker. If it says that Qt DLLs are missing then add your Qt bin directory to the system Path.
    I've just checked dependency walker and it highlighted two things for me. First, IESHIMS.DLL - Error opening file. The system cannot find the file specified (2). Then, in QTCORED4.DLL link checksum was printed in red. It indicates 0x011841EF.

    I tried searching for the IEShims.dll and I found two of them first in C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer and another one in C:\Program Files (x86)\Internet Explorer. If I have it in my system, how come it's a problem?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    687
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4 Qt5
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    IEShims.dll is not necessary (there is an egg timer on the left - or how it is called).
    I think that you have two versions of Qt in your system and you compiled with another than it is linked dynamically on you app launch. You can set Dependency Walker to show you full paths and check the version of this QTCORED4.DLL (it is shown in Dependency Walker, or you can right click on the file in Windows Explorer and open preferences - there should be tab where version informations are shown).
    I would like to be a "Guru"

    Useful hints (try them before asking):
    1. Use Qt Assistant
    2. Search the forum

    If you haven't found solution yet then create new topic with smart question.

  13. #13

    Default Re: application fails to launch

    Sorry to bump a thread this old, but I'm posting this for anyone who, like me, reached this thread by googling a problem.

    I managed to overcome the (0xc01500002) debacle by running Windows Update and just letting it loose. I suspect it could have been the .NET Framework service pack update that did the trick, but the bottom line is it started working now and hasn't earlier.

    So if you have nothing else, just try updating the bejesus out of your OS and see if it helps.

    Error:
    "Application was unable to start correctly (0xc01500002)"
    The solution is built but this message is produced on running the program (and nothing happens, basically).

    Parameters:
    Windows 7 Starter 32-bit
    Visual Studio 2010 Express

Similar Threads

  1. How to start an action at application launch ?
    By fassage in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd November 2009, 13:11
  2. I cannot launch my app!
    By MIH1406 in forum Qt Tools
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26th October 2009, 11:53
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th April 2009, 22:36
  4. How to launch an application automatically ?
    By merry in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16th January 2009, 15:26
  5. Application crashes at launch-time
    By Salazaar in forum Newbie
    Replies: 70
    Last Post: 22nd June 2007, 01:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.