Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it possible.......???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Question Is it possible.......???

    Hi all,

    I am going to make a project for my last year at college, this consist of an ADC that picks up sound and send the data to the serial port of the PC. Then through a software i need to display the spectrum of the data and also make an equalizer.

    So my question is, is it possible to do the software for the project with Qt and Qdevelop. Can it handle well dsp?

    Is it worth it to continue learning Qt??
    I wish to use Qt because i find it really easy for GUI.

    thanks,
    Adrian

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    250
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 49 Times in 36 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Is it possible.......???

    Sure, Qt is fine. But it has nothing to do with DSP. You're going to have to find a C++ library that does it, or write the routines by hand, depending on how complex your task is.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Is it possible.......???

    10x pherthyl, sure the dsp part is going to be pure c++, so i can use QT for the GUI! also has any one made a QT project with a frequency spectrum?? i made a search but i didn't found anything.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    5,372
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 976 Times in 912 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Is it possible.......???

    Quote Originally Posted by drinu21 View Post
    has any one made a QT project with a frequency spectrum??
    Take a look at Qwt. Even if you want to draw a spectrogram, it won't be a problem --- all you need is data, Qwt will handle the rest.

  5. The following user says thank you to jacek for this useful post:

    drinu21 (4th November 2007)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11
    Thanks
    1
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11

    Default Re: Is it possible.......???

    thanks jacek.

    i have downloaded and install Qwt and tried some of the examples given, but they won't build because the compiler is not finding the classes and headers file for them,
    every time i try to install a new class downloaded from the internet, it never works
    i know i am missing something really stupid...

    can you please help and tell what you do when download a class to use it your projects!?

    thanks adrian

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Is it possible.......???

    To compile and link application against Qwt, you will have to pass a path where headers can be found and then actually link against the library. Put something like this into your .pro file:
    Qt Code:
    1. INCLUDEPATH += /path/to/qwt/include
    2. LIBS += -L/path/to/qwt/lib -lqwt
    To copy to clipboard, switch view to plain text mode 
    J-P Nurmi

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.