Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: issues with QImage on different computers

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default issues with QImage on different computers

    hello,

    i use QImage in the application im building and we have noticed that some JPG and GIF images work perfectly on some machines but don't work on others. we have no indication of why the image doesnt work however the OS and other programs display the image 100% correct however Qt will sometimes return isValid() as false for the image.

    i was just wondering if anyone had seen this before and knew a possible work around or detection scheme other then to try and load and check isValid() to see if the image would work?

    thank you very much

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: issues with QImage on different computers

    Which platform? Most likely you forgot to deploy JPEG plugin.
    J-P Nurmi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: issues with QImage on different computers

    windows.

    i ship QtCore4 QtGui4 QtSvg4 and QtXml4 (all .dll) with my application. some pcs have 0 problems others can get most jpg/gif images but have issues with others. i have found no correlation between machines or images.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: issues with QImage on different computers

    Take a look at <QTDIR>\plugins\imageformats. Take all the needed image format plugins and deploy them with your application in imageformats-subdir related to application executable. For example:
    C:\app\app.exe
    C:\app\imageformats\qjpeg.dll
    J-P Nurmi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    11

    Default Re: issues with QImage on different computers

    jpn,

    thank you very much. i did not know i needed to include these dll files. since i dont link with them and the dependency finder did not find them.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Warsaw, Poland
    Posts
    33,359
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5,015 Times in 4,792 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4 Qt5 Qt/Embedded
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Android Maemo/MeeGo
    Wiki edits
    10

    Default Re: issues with QImage on different computers

    You can find a complete hint in the FAQ: http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/faq.ph...missing_images

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th September 2011, 16:37
  2. QShared
    By sabeesh in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11th October 2007, 12:40

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.