Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    I want to use Qt 4.5.0 together with Visual Studio 2008. I downloaded the Library which was precompiled with Mingw. I deleted the allready compiled binaries and recompiled the library and tools with VS 2008 Express. This worked fine.

    Then I saw that there is a free Visual Studio plugin. I thought that I have to create a complicated build Enviroment using CMake to get Qt work with Visual Studio before i realised that there is this plugin

    But when I want to install it say "No Qt package found....blablabla". I am able to continue but I can't check the Add-in during the Installation process.

    So:
    Where is the installer looking for the Qt Installation? Is there some sort of Enviroment variable I have to set?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    The Visual Studio Add-in doesn't install because only Visual Studio supports add-ins.
    You have probably only Visual C++ Express installed.
    Blame Microsoft. ;-)

    Anyway, you don't have to use CMake to build your projects with Visual C++.
    You can tell qmake to generate a .vcproj file from your .pro file by calling
    qmake -tp vc

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    I can't blame them for something they give away for free Frackin Microsoft!

    So I have to stick with qmake -tp vc . I will report back whether it suits my needs.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt3 Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaWolf View Post
    I can't blame them for something they give away for free
    which includes indeed a very good compiler and an awesome debugger!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    Ok it works great. The only thing that does not work is starting my application out of Visual Studio (so debugging does not work, neither).

    This is because Visual Studio starts the executable with the project root as working dir. So it does not find the plugins it needs (OGRE3D Plugins, not Qt Plugins). Is there a way (through qmake) to tell Visual Studio to use DESTDIR (qmake Var) as working dir?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    You can always use the new Qt Creator that comes with Qt 4.5 . Its all integrated and you can debug and stuff.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    6,264
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 1,519 Times in 1,389 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    MacOS X Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60 Maemo/MeeGo

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    You can set the working directory in project properties ("Debugging" page). However, you should not depend on the working directory in the first place. You should use for example QCoreApplication::applicationDirPath() and iterate to the plugins folder from there. You know, the current working directory might be almost anything depending on how the application is launched...
    J-P Nurmi

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    I had no issues compiling, running and debugging QT applications using VS C++ 2K8 Express. Here's the tutorial I based off to get everything running out of the box:

    http://www.telldus.se/qt/tutorial.pdf

    First post! QT beginner! Loving it! Hope it becomes the standard framework for cross platform application development!

    Cheers,

    bootsector

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    3
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Visual Studio Add-in won't install

    Quote Originally Posted by jpn View Post
    You can set the working directory in project properties ("Debugging" page). However, you should not depend on the working directory in the first place. You should use for example QCoreApplication::applicationDirPath() and iterate to the plugins folder from there. You know, the current working directory might be almost anything depending on how the application is launched...
    Thank you that'l work.

Similar Threads

  1. Failing Builds in msvc2005 -> QT4.4.3
    By plitanium in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd March 2009, 12:39
  2. Qt 4.4.1 Compile Error with MS Visual C++ 2008 Express SP1
    By BrainB0ne in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th August 2008, 15:49
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd November 2007, 17:44
  4. Qt configure with msvc.net
    By jivanr in forum Installation and Deployment
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2007, 08:17
  5. Qt Cryptographic Architecture
    By vermarajeev in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9th February 2007, 13:15

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.