Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Recreating MainWindow

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Recreating MainWindow

    Hello,
    I have a gui which is cyclic in execution(ie. it runs from Step1 to step n & starts over again). I have noticed that it kinda slows down after a few cycles. I was wondering is there anyway to destroy & recreate the mainWindow at the end of every cycle, so that it will speed up the execution on the longrun.

    Thank You.

    Prem.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    4,380
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 913 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Unix/X11 Windows Symbian S60
    Wiki edits
    5

    Default Re: Recreating MainWindow

    If is slows down, you most likely have an error in your code, that you do not clean properly. Or something like that... Have you profiled your application? Does the memory grow?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,241
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 127 Times in 126 Posts
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Recreating MainWindow

    sounds like you have a memory leak(s). fix the leaks...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    10
    Qt products
    Qt4
    Platforms
    Windows

    Default Re: Recreating MainWindow

    I had labels stacked on top of each other & show/hide at various stages of the program. Thats what mainly slows it down. Now i have started reprogramming the whole thing using Stacked widgets. That should solve the problem. What i'm asking right now is just a temprorary fix till i finish the program. Is recreating the mainwindow possible?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th April 2011, 09:53
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th July 2010, 12:03
  3. MainWindow Button
    By waynew in forum Newbie
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27th December 2009, 14:14
  4. MainWindow
    By amagdy.ibrahim in forum Newbie
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14th June 2008, 14:12
  5. Floating MainWindow on OS X
    By dvmorris in forum Qt Programming
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 14th May 2007, 09:11

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Digia, Qt and their respective logos are trademarks of Digia Plc in Finland and/or other countries worldwide.