PDA

View Full Version : QMapControl



rage
1st December 2007, 20:32
I am developing a mapping widget for Qtopia (also running under Qt). This widget allows you to add maps into your applications. The maps can be loaded from WMS servers or (my favourite) from the OpenStreetMap project. Then you can add your custom data into the maps. You can add Points, Lines, etc. to specific coordinates. Also you can display other widgets on coordinates.

For further information please visit the project website: http://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol

http://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol/images/qmapcontrol_linux_small.pnghttp://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol/images/qmapcontrol_wms_small.pnghttp://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol/images/qmapcontrol_neo_small.png

high_flyer
3rd December 2007, 09:59
This is VERY interesting.
We will need such a widget in our project, and I was afraid we will have to implement it ourselves (time problems!)
So, in the following months we will try it, and you will probably hear from us :-)

high_flyer
3rd December 2007, 10:20
I just tried the win32 version, and it says that it can't find (linker scrambled): "qt_message_output9QtMsgTypePKc" in QtCore4.Dll".
I put the dll at the same folder as the exe, it it should not be a case of a missing dll. (Qt4.3.2)

rage
3rd December 2007, 10:44
I've compiled it with Qt 4.3.1. I don't know if this might be a problem. I uploaded my DLLs, maybe this works.
http://medieninf.de/qmapcontrol/download/libs.rar

high_flyer
4th December 2007, 15:01
yes it works with the binaries you supplied...

csvivek
21st April 2008, 05:54
Hi,

I need to display raster maps in my application, i am using Qt 4.2.2.
can i directly use the API's provided in this site mentioned above.
Can you suggest how to use the APIs to display any raster map on a normal Qt widget?

Looking forward to your response

rage
21st April 2008, 11:32
I've replied to your mail.

Tavo92
21st April 2008, 19:22
Its a very interesting proyect! It is like the Google Maps Lib but for applications!
Rage, does the programm tells shortes-path from point to point, or do some kind of path-finding? It could be an excellent idea also (More difficult) if the programm can search for different sort of transports so you can see wether if you can go via bus to some point.

rage
24th April 2008, 09:59
Hmm, that could be possible, if somebody implements it... ;) The widget is a good base to develop such an application. To calculate routes for instance, webservices from openstreetmap can be used. Their API provides to get "geometry information" and therewith a possibility to calculate routes....
The widget as is just displays map tiles and additional things like lines, points, images, other widgets...

Cedric-2009
12th April 2009, 01:07
Hi,
I would need to use such a nice widget with raster or vector files in an offline application. Is it possible ? Any help is welcome.

Thx,
Cedric.

rage
15th April 2009, 13:19
Currently it is only possible to display pre-rendered map tiles from map providers like OpenStreetMap. QMapControl allows to cache tiles persistently but this might not be the best solution for you.
It should be possible to display vector graphics whose underlying data could be stored local. But I have not planned to implement this feature. Maybe someone else is willing to do this.

answerboy
25th February 2010, 09:24
这个东西太好了!!!

migel1976
30th May 2010, 09:29
Hello. Vey intersting project, i'm really want to use it in my application, but i want to know is it possible to use Map tiles which stored lacaly, i'm only intersting OpenStreetMap.
If possible how to do it?

rage
30th May 2010, 11:54
Hi Migel,

you can use the function enablePersistentCache (http://www.medieninf.de/qmapcontrol/doxygen/classqmapcontrol_1_1MapControl.html#f27ac1bc11a80f 7ff9a4bd3ec2527df7) to store map tiles locally. But there is currently no script to initialize the cache with a map region automatically. So you have to browse manually through the area which you want to be cached.

migel1976
30th May 2010, 12:06
Thank you for answer, is it i'm right to understand i can download osm file area which i want to use (for example Moscow Region, Russia) from openstreetmap and after that load it use enablePersistentCache?
Or first time i conecting with server and after that i'll cache region which are intersting for me, and in next start application i can load it from cache

//! Enable persistent caching of map tiles
/*!
* Call this method to allow the QMapControl widget to save map tiles
* persistent (also over application restarts).
* Tiles are stored in the subdirectory "QMapControl.cache" within the
* user's home directory. This can be changed by giving a path.
* @param path the path to the cache directory
*/
void enablePersistentCache ( const QDir& path=QDir::homePath() + "/QMapControl.cache" );

rage
13th June 2010, 20:01
Correct ;)

Thomas_Lerman
28th March 2011, 18:34
I would love to see something like this that works in a QGraphicsScene.

franco.amato
26th July 2020, 16:37
Hi,
can I have a small example to display a raster static map ( tif file ) ?
Regards