PDA

View Full Version : graphicsview performance problem

kernel_panic
22nd December 2007, 15:17
Hi all!
I have a problem with the performance of a QGraphicsView.
I made a small example and attached it. For the animation i have to do i need more than 1000 particles.
I tried it qith OpenGL viewport, optimazion flags and buffers. finally i put the particle system into a thread... nothing helped.
Im new with QGraphicsView and im sure some of you gurus can help me.

wysota
22nd December 2007, 15:33
The example you provided works quite fast on my computer (with the GL viewport). Could you specify what exactly is the problem?

kernel_panic
22nd December 2007, 15:56
try with 2000 particles.
int calcthread.cpp:
Init(2000,n_forces,f,Create,vel,pos1,pos2,128,QCol or(0,0,255,255),4);

wysota
22nd December 2007, 16:29
I did. 2000 is still quite fast. With 10000 it's slow, but drawing 10k pixmaps is quite an effort, so I can understand it.

kernel_panic
22nd December 2007, 17:47
?? for me is quiet slow....
and my dualcore has over 50% processor load.

jacek
22nd December 2007, 18:22
Use a profiler. It will show you where you should improve your application.

wysota
22nd December 2007, 19:21
I have a single core Athlon 2.5+ with hardware accelerated OpenGL implementation under Linux/X11 and Qt 4.3.3.

If rendering is too slow for you, try using OpenGL calls to render your items. It should be very fast - after all it's just a bunch of quads with the same texture applied.

kernel_panic
22nd December 2007, 20:24
ah!
i forgott one thing!
on linux, bsd and mac its quiet fast... but under windows....puah!

you mean i should implement it fully in opengl? i never worked with opengl.... dou you know any good tutorials?

jacek
22nd December 2007, 21:21
First try the profiler. By adding "const &" in certain place and changing one constant you can save about 30% of the CPU time.

kernel_panic
23rd December 2007, 08:48
I never used a profiler.