PDA

View Full Version : Qt4 integration with VS2008 Express how-to interest?

thomaspu
23rd December 2007, 19:35
Hello all,

I've been developing an application with Qt4 open-source edition and Visual Studio 2005/2008 Express editions. I'm an open-source developer and I've found that there really isn't a whole lot that we freebee users can use for easy Qt integration with Visual Studio when it comes to the build process. Seems like the choices are:

1) Re-run Qmake to re-create a .pro file each and every time a new file is added (qmake managed)
2) Create your own custom build steps to handle running Uic and Moc
3) Grab a bootlegged copy of Qt Integration :(

Here's my question to the Qt-Windows-VS users in the form:

Would any of you find it useful if I wrote a how-to guide and included the custom build steps and such that I used to create my own free Visual Studio integration?

I'd also post my build steps and build scripts for ease of helping first time users get up and running with freely available dev tools. With what I have now, Ui files are automatically handled. Moc files are automatically handled also based upon if a header file needs it or not.

I'd be interested in your opinions. Am I off my rocker here? Wasting my time? Do you know of a better way? Do you think its a good idea?

Let me know. Post!
Paul

elcuco
23rd December 2007, 20:00
... you forgot the part about eating dead kittens ...

Don't you think that what you are describing is ... wrong?

thomaspu
23rd December 2007, 20:02
Wrong how?

marcel
23rd December 2007, 20:16
3) Grab a bootlegged copy of Qt Integration :(I don't know about VS 2008 but all previous VS Express editions do not support extensions(plugins), so it won't do any good even if you get your hands on a cracked integration version.

... you forgot the part about eating dead kittens ...
Now that's just sick... Since it is Christmas, we will eat dead pigs.

2) Create your own custom build steps to handle running Uic and Moc