PDA

View Full Version : determining how to bounce the ball

Binji
24th December 2007, 02:01
Well first of all im still a newbie at Qt so i hope im not asking anything blatantly obvious. That said let's move to the problem...
Im writing a game similar to Pong (bouncing the ball around the screen and into blocks) and i dont know how to implement ball's collision detection.
First of all if using the collidingItems method i dont know how to determine if the ball hit the block or the paddle (i have to treat them differently).
Second i dont know how to figure where the ball hit the object so i know how to bounce it off it properly (in the right direction).

Im using QGraphicsItems on a QGraphicsScene.

Thanks for your help:)

P.S. If it makes a difference i use Qt Jambi but it still looked like the right forum for this

high_flyer
24th December 2007, 10:52
First of all if using the collidingItems method i dont know how to determine if the ball hit the block or the paddle (i have to treat them differently).
You are getting a list of items as return value.
Check the list for either block or paddle.

Second i dont know how to figure where the ball hit the object so i know how to bounce it off it properly (in the right direction).
Hmm... for some reason I was sure a signal is emitted, but I don't see that in the docs...
If you are using custom items (subclasses of QGraphicsItem) then you can build a timer in the item that will periodically check if it is colliding.
Hmm... not so good, as you just might miss a short collision...
So have a flag set when colliding, and check the collision flag with the timer maybe...
If not, you can do that on a higher level with collidingItems().

EDIT:
actually, you wont miss collisions with a timer, since you are advancing your items, so you can do that every time you advance them.

aamer4yu
24th December 2007, 11:52