PDA

View Full Version : QListWidget question

rishid
17th January 2008, 15:13
Hello,

I am just learning Qt and have a question regarding the QListWidget. I am trying to build one with a user-made widget list.

I might not be using the correct widget for my purpose maybe someone can suggest a better one. I want to essentially create a list of items using a custom widget I built for the items. I also need to select the items and bring up more details about it, so that is why I chose a ListView

I have attached an image of what I want it to look like. The thing on the right is supposed to be a scrollbar.

Thanks for the help.
RishiD

high_flyer
17th January 2008, 16:13
but what is the question? :)

rishid
17th January 2008, 16:16
Guess I am trying to figure out what type of layout / container to use that will work for me, that will provide a layout similar to the attached image above?

Only requirements I have for the container are basically, lets me add a custom designed widget to it, will vertically scroll when needed, and allow me to perform an action each item is clicked.

After some more reading I am thinking of creating a widget that inherits from QListWidgetItem and that should let me use my custom widget in a QListWidget.

high_flyer
17th January 2008, 16:25
After some more reading I am thinking of creating a widget that inherits from QListWidgetItem and that should let me use my custom widget in a QListWidget.
I would say so too.

rishid
17th January 2008, 16:55
Do you by any chance have some code/example on inheriting from QListWidgetItem?

Thanks for the help.

high_flyer
17th January 2008, 17:24
You might check the examples that come with Qt.

rishid
17th January 2008, 19:09
I have been messing around with it and may have found a problem. Since QListWidgetItem is not a derived from QWidget, I cannot seem to create a custom UI for it. Is this the right container to use? I wish vboxLayout had a scrollbar feature because that would work perfectly.