PDA

View Full Version : Cannot access memory at address 0x0

defumar
25th January 2008, 13:15
Hi, it's me, again (sigh), I'm unsure whether I should post this on the KDevelop forum, the gdb one or qtcentre, so I'll start with the most specific one.
I'm new to working with KDevelop. Yeah, I guess I should read some docs about it. (I normally work with MSVS)

Here's the problem I'm having: I keep getting the following error when trying to debug: Cannot access memory at address 0x0. I've cut down my code and pinned down the problem to be at line 5, yet I'm still puzzled as of why it happens, I can't see what I'm doing wrong here. (naturally, it compiles just fine)

Right, so here's the code.

#include <QApplication>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
QApplication app(argc, argv);

return 0;
}

Specs:
Ubuntu 7.10
KDevelop 3.5.0

wysota
25th January 2008, 15:01
Are you sure this is the code that causes trouble? It's perfectly valid. And accessing memory at address 0x0 means you are trying to dereference a null pointer.

defumar
25th January 2008, 15:05
I did a clean on the project dir, made the makefile etc again and left only the main.cpp in there and it still keeps giving me that error. I'll try starting a new project and copy pasting it in but this is really weird.

wysota
25th January 2008, 15:13
Try compiling and running an empty file.

defumar
25th January 2008, 15:35
No error on compilation
No error on debug for the following

int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
return 0;
}

Unless you meant compiling a truly empty file, 'cus that gave me: (.text+0x18): undefined reference to `main'
which seems normal imo

jpn
25th January 2008, 15:43
What's the backtrace when "Cannot access memory at address 0x0" happens?

defumar
25th January 2008, 15:57
behold:
(gdb) bt
#0 main (argc=Cannot access memory at address 0x0
) at main.cpp:7
^done

wysota
25th January 2008, 17:47