PDA

View Full Version : GraphicsView / ModelView Integration ???

travlr
7th February 2008, 19:36
Hi all,

Abstract:
I'm working on implementing/emulating this modular data exploration platform (http://www.knime.org/) concept/functionality in Qt4.
I tend to want to use the excellent Model/View framework as the core of all my data-centric applications.
The Graphics View Framework is exciting and I'm still learning it.
I see aspects of both Model/View and Graphics/View being needed for this to work for me.
Model/View as the interface to flexible and diverse back-end for my data items.
Graphics/View for the node/edge visual representation.
I searched through relevant threads here on the forum without finding many clues to answer my questions.
Questions:

First, I have always wondered why the Graphics View Framework isn't integrated with the Model View Framework? This would seem very logical to me.
Since I need "edge" connectors between the graphical representation of my nodes, it seems this would require the Graphics View Framework... Is this correct?
Can edges be drawn in Model/View alone?
Can I use the Graphics/View as the front-end, and Model/View as the back-end interface in my application?
Do you have any other comments or recommendations for me?
Thank you for your comments,
-travlr

wysota
7th February 2008, 20:18
First, I have always wondered why the Graphics View Framework isn't integrated with the Model View Framework? This would seem very logical to me.
I was asking myself the same question but at some point in time I stopped doing it - the architectures are just too different. Of course if you want to provide a model based access to the graphics view framework, it is possible and I even had plans to do it but never managed to start working on it.

Since I need "edge" connectors between the graphical representation of my nodes, it seems this would require the Graphics View Framework... Is this correct?