PDA

View Full Version : Adding qpaint object to a Layout

Rooster
12th February 2008, 03:12
I am rewriting a bit of code where there use to be a canvas and I am replacing it with a paint object. When I added the canvas to my gui all I had to do is tb->addWidget(canvas), where tb is a vertical layout. When I try to add the paint object to tb I get the error no matching function for call to ‘QHBoxLayout::addWidget(QPainter*&). I was wondering how would I add the paint object to tb where the canvas use to be.

When I say paint object, I mean QPaint paint. Not sure what the terminology is here. I am very new to QT.

Sorry if this is confusing to anybody.

Thanks

ashukla
12th February 2008, 04:20
I am rewriting a bit of code where there use to be a canvas and I am replacing it with a paint object. When I added the canvas to my gui all I had to do is tb->addWidget(canvas), where tb is a vertical layout. When I try to add the paint object to tb I get the error no matching function for call to ‘QHBoxLayout::addWidget(QPainter*&). I was wondering how would I add the paint object to tb where the canvas use to be.

When I say paint object, I mean QPaint paint. Not sure what the terminology is here. I am very new to QT.

Sorry if this is confusing to anybody.

Thanks
Here, You can use QGraphicsView (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.3/qgraphicsview.html) object in place of QCanvas..

Rooster
12th February 2008, 17:09
Here, You can use QGraphicsView (http://doc.trolltech.com/4.3/qgraphicsview.html) object in place of QCanvas..

That function was introduced in version 4.2 and I am using Qt 3.3, and can't upgrade because we have a commercial license for that version. Do you have any other suggestions?

marcel
12th February 2008, 17:12
You mean a QPainter?
You can't add a QPainter to anything. QPainter is used just to paint on paint devices.
If you want to create a graphical object to substitute the canvas, you can create a QWidget subclass and paint on it.

Regards

Rooster