PDA

View Full Version : Static Compile [Qt4]

PieaholicX
15th March 2006, 00:30
Okay, I've read it in the FAQ and such, but I'm still not quite sure. How do I compile my Qt programs so that they are statically linked with the Qt libraries?

zlatko
15th March 2006, 08:33
You need buid qt library in static mode

PieaholicX
15th March 2006, 14:37
You need buid qt library in static mode
And how exactly wound one do this? I'm rather new at mass programming.

ksqt
15th March 2006, 14:49
I actually think I may be able to answer this....
Download the Qt source (not the one with MinGW exe)....
Unpack the source....
Then "configure -static"......
And after that you will need to make (possibly mingw32-make) or nmake(vc++)......

My question in my thread is about using the jpeg libraries "statically"...........haven't figured it out yet...

PieaholicX
16th March 2006, 02:59
Awesome. Just re-ran configure with the -static flag and it looks like it's going good.

bpetty
29th August 2006, 18:11
I have had a little trouble getting this to work.

I can build the static libraries just fine... but my I am still linking against the dynamic libraries. I tried adding this to my .pro file:

CONFIG += -static

...But that didn't do anything.
To create my libaries I did:
./configure -static
make sub-src

Then I copied all of the .a libs to my /usr/local/TrollTech/Qt/libs dir.
Maybe I shouldn't have done that.. I don't know. Anyways... if anyone has any tips, I'd appreciate them.

Thanks!

jacek
29th August 2006, 19:45
Shouldn't it be "CONFIG += static" (without "-")?

jpn
29th August 2006, 20:16
QtCentreWiki: Building static applications (http://wiki.qtcentre.org/index.php?title=Building_static_applications)

bpetty
30th August 2006, 17:16
Ok, I uninstalled my Qt build... and built everything with the static and release flags.