PDA

View Full Version : phonon on QT4.4



coolk
28th March 2008, 20:16
I HOPE I AM IN THE RIGHT FORUM

i was referred by the phonon (KDE MULTIMEDIA) mailing list to this website

i have been jumping around websites asking them for help about this issue

i really want a detailed solution

here is the problem
------------------------
My system specifications:

Windows XP professional
Microsoft DirectX SDK (March 2008)
WinXP Platform SDK
Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
QT4.4 BETA1
QT win Integration 1.3.3




I have had few difficulties in being able to use phonon on QT4.4



Here is the Scenario



- I go to the example inside ../qt4.4/examples/phonon

- I load the QT command line and cd to the example

- Through the command line, “qmake –tp vc”

- It builds a project file to be used in visual studio 2005

- I double click the project (musicplayer.vcproj)

- Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 opens

- Starts the project

- Compiles and links successfully

- As soon as I click on file, open and choose a mp3 file to load

- The file doesn’t load and the application doesn’t stop working and doesn’t crash

BUT the out put from debug shows the following message



WARNING: bool __thiscall Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend(void) phonon backend plugin could not be loaded



Please Note:



Before the above problem has occurred, there are several files that the example was not able to see in the (Bin and Lib Directories) even though they are available and included in both linker and general input libraries in the projects properties and I had to take these files (.dll) and add them all to the projects folder in order to make the example at least see them



These files are the following:



phonond4.dll
QtCored4.dll
QtGuid4.dll


-----------------------------------------------
plz help me out with this problem as no one has helped me with it before thanks

jpn
29th March 2008, 22:13
Which files do you have in %QTDIR%\plugins\phonon_backend?

Stukfruit
31st March 2008, 10:43
Try a recent snapshot, afaik the beta preview didn't build Phonon yet?

(at least, the snapshots did not at that time)

coolk
31st March 2008, 17:07
here are the files in plugins\phonon_backend

phonon_ds9d4.dll
phonon_ds9d4.lib
phonon_ds94.dll
phonon_ds94.lib

u know what confuses me ?
is why do i need to include the files that i mentioned previously ?
they are in the QTDIR\bin its just soo confusing and its set in the enviroment virables in windows and on top of that included when u go to right click on the project then properties then c++ then general

i asked Trolltech but they said , you need to
set manually /bin /include /lib from platform sdk , but what platform sdk has to do with phonon backend i know it is needed but i dont think i have to set it manually

i have been working on this problem for along time

jpn
31st March 2008, 18:19
I just noticed that ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/snapshots has Qt 4.4.1 snapshots already since last week so presumably Qt 4.4.0 stable is getting close... I'd wait for it instead of banging my head against the wall with an unstable beta release. ;)

coolk
31st March 2008, 18:58
does it work fast on mac?

Mañana
12th August 2008, 09:04
Well, this is quite a thread resurrection, but did anyone ever get this to work? I have exactly the same issue, thou my environment differs slightly.

Windows Vista Business
Microsoft DirectX SDK (June 2008)
Microsoft Visual Studio 2008
QT4.4.0
QT win Integration 1.4.0


I have reconfigured Qt to run with vs2008 (configure, then nmake)
Included QT += phonon in the .pro file
and added Include <phonon> in the h file...

muellerp
13th August 2008, 10:28
Well, this is quite a thread resurrection, but did anyone ever get this to work? I have exactly the same issue, thou my environment differs slightly.

Windows Vista Business
Microsoft DirectX SDK (June 2008)
Microsoft Visual Studio 2008
QT4.4.0
QT win Integration 1.4.0


I have reconfigured Qt to run with vs2008 (configure, then nmake)
Included QT += phonon in the .pro file
and added Include <phonon> in the h file...

For sure, but with 2005.
What exactly doesn't work?
Does it compile?
Does it link?
Does it start properly in debug mode?
Does it start properly in release mode?
Is Phonon really compiled in Qt4.4 (not enabled by default when compiling Qt4)?

Mañana
13th August 2008, 11:09
It builds and links properly. I havent tried running it in Release mode but in debug mode is starts properly, and when I try to play a sound it just says

WARNING: bool __thiscall Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend(void) phonon backend plugin could not be loaded

The application keeps running as supposed to, it doesn't crash or anything. Thats just all it says...

Also, as described in the first post, I had to manually move the required dlls, whitch seems a little strange.

Mañana
18th August 2008, 15:48
well, changed to XP SP3 and VS2005
still Qt 4.4.0, VS integration 1.4.0 and DX SDK June 2008

Same error...

rbp
10th October 2008, 06:56
I'm from a unix background and also found it confusing.

You don't need to move around the dlls. Navigate to My Computer->properties->advanced->Environment variables and add the qt bin directory to PATH
Then your application can hopefully find the right backend dll.

Richard

SunnySan
30th October 2008, 14:02
How do you get the dlls for phonon.?
I have compile the qt libs but these dlls (for phonon Qt4.4) are not there??

thanks

(without using MS visual...? with QT and mingw)

rbp
30th October 2008, 23:22
did you pass the phonon flag to configure?

SunnySan
31st October 2008, 11:29
sorry but I don't know about the flag setting .
is it when compiling all the Qt libs??

rbp
2nd November 2008, 23:39
How did you install Qt? If it was with a package manager like apt-get then phonon was probably not installed by default (it wasn't for me on Ubuntu).
But if you install from source you would first run a configure script. Try running

./configure -help
and you will see a -phonon option.

xenofanes
15th January 2009, 13:38
I HOPE I AM IN THE RIGHT FORUM

i was referred by the phonon (KDE MULTIMEDIA) mailing list to this website

i have been jumping around websites asking them for help about this issue

i really want a detailed solution

here is the problem
------------------------
My system specifications:

Windows XP professional
Microsoft DirectX SDK (March 2008)
WinXP Platform SDK
Microsoft Visual Studio 2005
QT4.4 BETA1
QT win Integration 1.3.3




I have had few difficulties in being able to use phonon on QT4.4



Here is the Scenario



- I go to the example inside ../qt4.4/examples/phonon

- I load the QT command line and cd to the example

- Through the command line, “qmake –tp vc”

- It builds a project file to be used in visual studio 2005

- I double click the project (musicplayer.vcproj)

- Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 opens

- Starts the project

- Compiles and links successfully

- As soon as I click on file, open and choose a mp3 file to load

- The file doesn’t load and the application doesn’t stop working and doesn’t crash

BUT the out put from debug shows the following message



WARNING: bool __thiscall Phonon::FactoryPrivate::createBackend(void) phonon backend plugin could not be loaded



Please Note:



Before the above problem has occurred, there are several files that the example was not able to see in the (Bin and Lib Directories) even though they are available and included in both linker and general input libraries in the projects properties and I had to take these files (.dll) and add them all to the projects folder in order to make the example at least see them



These files are the following:



phonond4.dll
QtCored4.dll
QtGuid4.dll


-----------------------------------------------
plz help me out with this problem as no one has helped me with it before thanks

I had the same problem. I just included QtOpenGLd4.dll it run perfect. When you forget some dlls, app produces error like "could not find the dll" but, if you don't include QtOpenGLd4.dll it never mentions this...