PDA

View Full Version : Not able to debug Qt

S_N
4th April 2008, 07:55
Hello experts,

I am new to Qt. I have downloaded its latest version 4.3.4 (windows open source) from Trolltech site and built it for MSVC2005 compiler according to the stpes given on the following link
http://wiki.qgis.org/qgiswiki/Building_QT_4_with_Visual_C++_2005
I build it for debug libraries. It got build properly without any error. Now using these libraries I compiled a simple application to display "Hello World" on a button. The application also got complied successfully. (This application I build with "qmake -project CONFIG+=debug" command in order to make it debuggable) now when I opened this application in MSVC2005 IDE for debug, it’s not allowing me to step inside Qt’s code.
The code of the application is like this:
#include <QApplication>
#include <QPushButton>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
QApplication app(argc, argv);

QPushButton hello("Hello world!");
hello.resize(100, 30);

hello.show();
return app.exec();
}
Now I want to see the code flow inside function hello.resize() or hello.show(). The application is simply running not allowing me to go inside any function. I would be really grateful if someone can help me doing this.

Thanks.

spud
4th April 2008, 10:04
A couple of questions:

Look in %QTDIR%/bin. Can you find QtCored4.dll, QtGuid4.dll etc?
Look in %QTDIR%/lib. Can you find QtCored4.lib, .pdb, .ilk, .exp?
Check your linker settings. are you linking to QtCored4.lib etc?
While debugging, try setting a breakpoint in a Qt source file. Check if the breakpoint stays active, or read the error message.

There are a lot of guides how to install Qt-win-opensource, because it used to be a bit tricky. Some of them need to be updated, because nowadays all you have to do is unzip and "configure && nmake".

S_N
4th April 2008, 10:45
I have checked %QTDIR%/bin. I have QtCored4.dll, QtGuid4.dll and all other debug dlls there.