PDA

View Full Version : listing derectory contents

ramamurthy.kv
9th April 2008, 13:38
Hi,

I am new to Qt prgramming but have fair amount of knowledge to work with Qt. I have requirement to list the directry structure of different projects folders like

+ projects
|
+ Qt project
|
+ c:\Qt ## actual directory listing starts here
|
+ Qtopia prject
|
+ d:\Qtopia ## actual directory listing starts here
|

I know i can use the QDirModel, but that doesnt give the required.

here
1. these derectories are from different drives
2. the first item should always be "projects"
3. the next immediate items will be names of the projects

can anybody help me? expecting piece of code also

thanks in advance
ram

wysota
9th April 2008, 15:12
You can build your own model (or a proxy model) that will return different results depending on the depth - The top most item ("projects") can be hardcoded, the next level would operate on some list of projects and below that you could return data from a proper QDirModel.

ramamurthy.kv
9th April 2008, 16:08
thanks wysota,

yes i thought the same and implemented the first part as to get projects and name of the projects from the list. now the problem is how to integrate this with QDirModel. How can i use the QDirModel for the required path?

if you can elaborate the answer/ piece of code wuld be great

wysota
9th April 2008, 16:24
Have a QDirModel member, map indexes and call the model's implementation of appropriate methods.
Pseudocode follows:

QVariant myModel::data(...){
if( depth(index) >=2){
QModelIndex ind = mapToDirModel(index);
return dirModel->data(ind, role);
} else {
if(!index.parent().isValid()){
if(role==Qt::DisplayRole) return tr("Projects"); else {...}
} else { ... }
}
return QVariant();
}

Probably the hardest part is to make a proper implementation of QAbstractItemModel::parent().

ramamurthy.kv
9th April 2008, 17:09