PDA

View Full Version : Using tables from different databases in QSqlRelationalTable

blivrail
10th April 2008, 21:04
Hello,

It's my first time posting here - hello :)

I am having some trouble with using QSqlRelationalTable, setting relation rules using QSqlRelation. I have a case where the relation is defined in a table in another database (with the same connection). I have tried using the syntax

model->setRelation( col, QSqlRelation( "dbname.tablename", "key", "value" ) ;

but it doesn't work. I've also tried using ticks (`) in the names as well...

Does anyone know if there is a workaround possible for this feature?

Thanks.

wysota
10th April 2008, 21:22
I don't think you can do that. It breaks some normal form anyway, so you should probably redesign your databases.

blivrail
10th April 2008, 22:41
I was hoping it didn't come to that - thanks!

trueneo
10th April 2008, 23:37
QSqlRelationalDelegate internally uses QSqlTableModel to supply the "related data", QSqlRelationalTableModel fires
QSqlTableModel::setTable( QSqlRelation::tablename);
QSqlTableModel::select();
when the delegate ask for the related data.
If you could use a table stored in a different database within the same connection, as data source for QSqlTableModel, then you will be able to succeed. I'm sure it is quite difficult, I'm with wysota, redesign your database: first time I see a foreign key in a foreign table in a foreign database.

Daniele

GreyGeek
14th April 2008, 16:33
Hello,

It's my first time posting here - hello :)

I am having some trouble with using QSqlRelationalTable, setting relation rules using QSqlRelation. I have a case where the relation is defined in a table in another database (with the same connection). I have tried using the syntax

model->setRelation( col, QSqlRelation( "dbname.tablename", "key", "value" ) ;

but it doesn't work. I've also tried using ticks (`) in the names as well...

Does anyone know if there is a workaround possible for this feature?

Thanks.