PDA

View Full Version : Passing Pixmaps between MainWindow and Dialog

ramstormrage
14th April 2008, 07:14
Good day people.

Im an undergraduate student whose thesis is an Image Viewer to be used for Plant Disease Assessment. I am using Qt4 for this project.

I would like to ask about how to pass QImage objects from the MainWindow to a dialog. Specifically, i would like to display the current QImage object from my main window to a brightness control dialog (to be shown as a preview).

wysota
14th April 2008, 08:00
Provide a custom method in the dialog class taking a pixmap as an argument and make the method assign the image to the label (or other widget) used to display it.

ramstormrage
14th April 2008, 08:48
Provide a custom method in the dialog class taking a pixmap as an argument and make the method assign the image to the label (or other widget) used to display it.

Im so sorry wysota, but I dont quite get what you are suggesting.

Are you suggesting that I code a function that accepts pixmaps (or has another QImage object that would hold the copy of the object in the main window?), and then put the "clone" pixmap to the Image preview label in the dialog?

Please bear with me..:(

wysota
14th April 2008, 11:49
class MyDialog : public QDialog {
Q_OBJECT
public:
MyDialog(QWidget *parent=0) : QDialog(parent){
QVBoxLayout *l = new QVBoxLayout(this);
label = new QLabel;
l->addWidget(label);
}
void setPixmap(const QPixmap &px){
label->setPixmap(px);
}
private:
QLabel *label;
};

ramstormrage
15th April 2008, 13:54
Hello wysota,

Thanks for replying. I tried the above code, and in addition i used the below code when calling the dialog:

void MainWindow::show_brightnessDialog()
{
brDialog *dialog = new brDialog(this);
dialog->show();
dialog->setPixmap(QPixmap::fromImage(image));
}

It compiled successfully then I tried to load a jpeg image. When I invoke the brDialog, the whole program quits to the desktop without any error. How come?