PDA

View Full Version : QT 4.4 / Phonon / Video / Rendering a single frame

rextr
24th April 2008, 09:06
Hi, Is there any way to get individual frames of a video and render it as an image file?

What I want to do is a video preview image(a jpg file for example) which gives an idea of what the video is about, like youtube preview.

I'm pretty new to Qt Jambi and Phonon videoplayer, I have searched the API docs but still can't figure it out , any help will be appreciated, thanks ...

aamer4yu
24th April 2008, 09:27
Am not sure too. :D

But u can try this -
Pause the VideoPlayer / VideoWidget when u show the application.
Its like seeking to frame 0 or time 0 and pausing. This will show the first frame.
Then u can proceed with the play function ;)

hope i made sense :P

tituslup
7th July 2008, 12:39
hello,
I 'm also trying to get an image from a videostream, i thought of using grabWidget on the video widget but it doesn't seem to capture anything from the video. I also tried to use pause on the media object, grab , then play (as suggested ).
If anyone knows how to capture a frame please reply.

Thank you,
Titus

Edited:
Nevermind, it works just fine, it didn't like the place i made the videoWidget.

JimDaniel
10th July 2008, 23:58
What do you mean by "didn't like the place I made the widget?" I'm trying to accomplish the same thing, but as of yet have not gotten it to work. All I get is a gray box the size of the widget. Thanks for any help you can give...

tituslup
18th July 2008, 09:29
Hello JimDaniel,

sorry for taking so long to answer you. I'll give you an example how i used the video Widget and the grabWidget:

// this code is inside a class that inherits a QWidget
m_MediaObject = new Phonon::MediaObject(this);
m_MediaObject->clearQueue ();
m_MediaObject->enqueue(Phonon::MediaSource(fileName)); // or setCurrentSource
m_MediaObject->play();

m_videoWidget = new Phonon::VideoWidget(this);
m_videoWidget->setGeometry(0,0,500,500);