PDA

View Full Version : QHttp delaying requests

etru1927
28th April 2008, 12:10
Hi all,

I'm trying to retrieve images from a network camera to display them on a window. I'm sending requests every 50 milliseconds, but I only get 1 FPS or so. The problem seems to be on the Qt side, since 'get' requests are actually sent at that rate (according to signal requestStarted()). Sample output:

Request 1 started (host setup)
Request 1 finished
Request ignored (no image)
Petitioning with id: 2
Request 2 started
Petitioning with id: 3
Petitioning with id: 4
Petitioning with id: 5
Request 2 finished
Reading new frame... (2)
Updating frame on window...
Request 3 started
Request 3 finished, error? 0
Reading new frame... (3)
Request 4 started
Request 4 finished, error? 0
Reading new frame... (4)
Request 5 started
Request 5 finished, error? 0
Reading new frame... (5)

Is this behaviour expected for QHttp? I don't see anything in the documentation saying so, but I'm rather new to Qt. Any ideas?

Thanks!

wysota
28th April 2008, 12:42
Yes, this is expected. QHttp API queues requests and that is clearly mentioned in the docs:

The function does not block and returns immediately. The request is scheduled, and its execution is performed asynchronously. The function returns a unique identifier which is passed by requestStarted() and requestFinished().

etru1927
28th April 2008, 13:12
I've gone over that line at least a dozen times (before your post, and after) and I still don't understand how this behaviour can be inferred from there. I understand that requests are queued and executed asynchronously, but I don't see why one request is not sent until the previous one has finished. Is that what "scheduled" means? If so I guess I'll have to work on my computer science jargon!

If that is the case, what other mechanisms may I use to solve this problem? QTcpSocket?

Thanks again.

wysota
28th April 2008, 13:47
Is that what "scheduled" means?
Yes.