PDA

View Full Version : Qt installation



jay
16th May 2008, 06:35
Dear all,

can any one please tell me, should the Qt is installation in Linux needs X11?

Thanks in advance.

I am using Slackware linux and Qt4.3.0(open source).

Regards,
Jay.

ChristianEhrlicher
16th May 2008, 06:41
It's called Qt4/X11 - so yes. But QtCore, xml and network don't need X11.

jay
16th May 2008, 07:14
Thank you for your reply.

I need to use QtGui classes like QImage in my application.
up to my knowledge, this is not possible when using QtCore.

please suggest any other way to do.

ChristianEhrlicher
16th May 2008, 07:21
What should I suggest?
Do you have X11 installed but you'll create a console-only app or don't you have X11 installed? If it's installed you can also use some of the QtGui-classes without the need for a QApplication. If X11 is not installed you can't compile and use QtGui.

jay
16th May 2008, 07:28
X11 is installed in my system. I am running a sample which uses QApplication and QImage without startiing X.

so in deployment do I need to distribute X11 libraries also(if the target system doesn't contain X11)?

ChristianEhrlicher
16th May 2008, 07:32
I answered this already... QtGui depends on X11 so you'll likely need X11 libs.

jay
16th May 2008, 07:43
Thank you so much for your patient hearing.

lyuts
27th May 2008, 15:24
X11 is installed in my system. I am running a sample which uses QApplication and QImage without startiing X.

so in deployment do I need to distribute X11 libraries also(if the target system doesn't contain X11)?

What is the purpose/reason in developing a GUI application for a system without GUI support?(even with supplying all the necessary X11 libs)