PDA

View Full Version : QGraphicsView inside of QAbstractItemView viewport problem

koosh
29th June 2008, 00:08
Hi. I've got a model/view architecture with several custom QTreeView / QTableView views and I'd like to add a QGraphicsView of this model also. My approach was to subclass QAbstractItemView, adding a QGraphicsScene and QGraphicsView to this class. Any updates to the model will then add/modify the associated QGraphicsItems in the graphics scene.

I'm just starting out on this part, and the problem is that I can't get the QAbstractItemView viewport to properly display the QGraphicsView. My QGraphicsView is constructed with the QAbstractItemView as a parent widget, and then I setViewport(graphicsview). The graphics view is displayed in the QAbstractItemView window, but as a small rect in the upper corner. If I scale the GraphicsView it changes in size, but scrolling doesn't work. If I resize the window, the graphicsview doesn't resize or scroll. What am I missing here?

estan
22nd February 2009, 14:26
I'm kind of in the same situation and would love to hear from somebody who has used QGraphicsView in a QAbstractItemView subclass.
My reason for trying this is that I essentially want to create a pimped up list view where each item can be "flipped" over with an animated effect, kind of like a rotating square rod. Ugly mockup:

http://dose.se/flipmock.png

Bjoern
26th February 2009, 10:12
@estan:

Why using a QGraphicsView for this ?
I can't think of a clean solution of this, but I'm just beginning to dig deep into QGV yet.

My suggestion is to use a custom delegate, which handles the animation.
This is the way of customizing Views is intended by Troll (*err* ... Nokia ;) ), and I've already seen fluid animations using this approach on X11/Linux.

@koosh (even though your post is really old):

I don't expect this to work, your basic problem are the event handlers of GraphicsView and ItemView.