PDA

View Full Version : Memory leak



zlatko
28th March 2006, 16:24
Windows XP Prof, Visual Studio, Qt 3.3.5

When i run my app it take 8498K memory.Then when i minimize main window my app take 1036K and then if i maximize main window my app take only 3116K. Why not 8498K in the start ?

jacek
28th March 2006, 16:42
And where's that memory leak?

zlatko
28th March 2006, 16:45
And where's that memory leak?
sorry for my poor english but i think that you understand my question isnt it?

jacek
28th March 2006, 16:51
Your application has freed 5MB of memory. Why do you call this a memory leak? If memory was leaking, its usage would increase.

L.Marvell
28th March 2006, 16:56
It's not memory leak but can somebody explain why it happens like said Zlatko.

zlatko
28th March 2006, 16:57
I cant understand why app alloc this 5000K at the start? For what?:mad:

wysota
28th March 2006, 17:11
It's your app, you should know :) If you want, you can use some memory checkers like valgrind, mpatrol and others to see where and when the memory is allocated and freed. It doesn't even have to be Qt doing that, it can be something connected with X11 or window manager used. It could also be that the memory is not freed but swaped out (if the values you reported here are about the physical memory usage).

zlatko
28th March 2006, 17:27
Ok sorry guys its my carelessness it happdn for all programs runned under windows ..its interesting to know why..but its question not for this forum :)

nouknouk
28th March 2006, 19:02
maybe it's due to some kind of buffer for graphic context or something like that...