PDA

View Full Version : Qt 4.4.1 deployement with Visual Studio Express 2008



abrou
7th August 2008, 22:40
I created a project with Qt 4.3 Open Source and Visual Studio Express 2005 and had great sucess with it. I had to get a new computer, so I installed Qt 4.4.1 and Visual Studio Express 2008, and it seemed to be successful. The examples seem to work, but I tried to build my project that I had created on my old system and I get this (the rule is make debug):


'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,

If I try to rebuild (rule:
qmake –project
qmake
make clean
make debug)
:

1>Performing Makefile project actions
1>Failure to open file: C:/Documents and Settings/abrounstein/My Documents/Visual Studio 2008/Projects/RoboSearch/RoboSearch//RoboSearch.pro
1>Unable to generate project file.
1>Failure to read QMAKESPEC conf file c:\Qt4.4\mkspec\win32-msvc2008\qmake.conf.
1>Error processing project file: C:/Documents and Settings/abrounstein/My Documents/Visual Studio 2008/Projects/RoboSearch/RoboSearch/RoboSearch.pro
1>'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
1>operable program or batch file.
1>'make' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
1>operable program or batch file.
1>Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"

I've tried to fix the path, but I am still new to this, and so I haven't been able to figure it out myself. The only posts I can find that are similar seem to be related to mingW, which is not what I used.

Does anybody have any suggestions? I'm running out of ideas..... Thanks!

Let me know if any more info would be helpful.

edit: And the line ending "RoboSearch//RoboSearch.pro" is not a typo, that's what it says. The double \\ would maybe be why it isn't finding it, but I have no idea how to fix it.

The Storm
8th August 2008, 20:54
I think that the visual studio command must be "nmake" not "make". Maybe you have messed up instalation of MinGW ?

jacek
8th August 2008, 21:06
Does the .pro file exist at that location (there's RoboSearch twice in the path)?

abrou
8th August 2008, 21:35
The Storm: I didn't install using mingW (although it does happen to be on this computer already)

Jacek: Yes, If you take away the extra '\' then it is in the path specified (Both RoboSearch's are there because Visual Studio set up the project that way)

The Storm
10th August 2008, 12:53
Then try to use "nmake" instead of "make", perhaps it will fix your problem. :)

abrou
11th August 2008, 16:40
Yes, I had tried that, and I got the following error:


1>------ Build started: Project: RoboSearch, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Performing Makefile project actions
1>Microsoft (R) Program Maintenance Utility Version 9.00.21022.08
1>Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
1> c:\Qt4.4\bin\qmake.exe -win32 -o Makefile RoboSearch.pro
1>Failure to read QMAKESPEC conf file c:\Qt4.4\mkspec\win32-msvc2008\qmake.conf.
1>Error processing project file: RoboSearch.pro
1>NMAKE : fatal error U1077: 'c:\Qt4.4\bin\qmake.exe' : return code '0x3'
1>Stop.
1>Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"
1>Build log was saved at "file://c:\Documents and Settings\abrounstein\My Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\RoboSearch\RoboSearch\Debug\BuildLog .htm"
1>RoboSearch - 2 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

I am now investigating this. Any suggestions would be appreciated! So much for me to learn!

edit: And I should add that I have made an environment variable QMAKESPEC=C:\Qt4.4\mkspecs\win32-msvc2008 and this directory does have qmake.conf in it

jacek
11th August 2008, 17:51
I should add that I have made an environment variable QMAKESPEC=C:\Qt4.4\mkspecs\win32-msvc2008 and this directory does have qmake.conf in it
Set QMAKESPEC to win32-msvc2008.

abrou
11th August 2008, 17:57
Thank you very much! It seems to be compiling now!

It's always a simple, yet stupid mistake, isn't it?

damienww
28th February 2009, 02:13
Hey, I have the same problem. I tried adding that QMAKESPEC to win32-msvc2008. But still doesn't work.

I'm running on visual studio 2008 professional. I don't think I have mingw installed. Could this be the problem?
If yes, will the Qt exe for windows with mingw be enough?

Here's the error:


Performing Makefile project actions
Usage: qmake [mode] [options] [files]
QMake has two modes, one mode for generating project files based on
some heuristics, and the other for generating makefiles. Normally you
shouldn't need to specify a mode, as makefile generation is the default
mode for qmake, but you may use this to test qmake on an existing project
Mode:
-project Put qmake into project file generation mode
In this mode qmake interprets files as files to
be built,
defaults to *.c; *.ui; *.y; *.l; *.ts; *.xlf; *.qrc; *.h; *.hpp; *.hh; *.hxx; *.cpp; *.cc; *.cxx
-makefile Put qmake into makefile generation mode (default)
In this mode qmake interprets files as project files to
be processed, if skipped qmake will try to find a project
file in your current working directory
Warnings Options:
-Wnone Turn off all warnings
-Wall Turn on all warnings
-Wparser Turn on parser warnings
-Wlogic Turn on logic warnings
Options:
* You can place any variable assignment in options and it will be *
* processed as if it was in [files]. These assignments will be parsed *
* before [files]. *
-o file Write output to file
-unix Run in unix mode
-win32 Run in win32 mode
-macx Run in Mac OS X mode
-d Increase debug level
-t templ Overrides TEMPLATE as templ
-tp prefix Overrides TEMPLATE so that prefix is prefixed into the value
-help This help
-v Version information
-after All variable assignments after this will be
parsed after [files]
-norecursive Don't do a recursive search
-recursive Do a recursive search
-cache file Use file as cache [makefile mode only]
-spec spec Use spec as QMAKESPEC [makefile mode only]
-nocache Don't use a cache file [makefile mode only]
-nodepend Don't generate dependencies [makefile mode only]
-nomoc Don't generate moc targets [makefile mode only]
-nopwd Don't look for files in pwd [project mode only]
Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from "Performing Makefile project actions"


Thanks!