PDA

View Full Version : mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'.



itssaurav2004
13th August 2008, 22:14
:confused:after qmake -project and qmake hello.pro
when i make i get the following error "mingw32-make: Nothing to be done for 'first'."
i am using windows vista and new to qt plzz help

jpn
14th August 2008, 06:53
What does the generated project (.pro) file look like? What files did you have in the folder when you ran 'qmake -project'?

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 10:10
when i ececuted qmake -project i got hello.pro
after qmake hello.pro i got Makefile and after that when i excuted make command then i got the above mnetioned error

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 10:11
i have following files in the dir:
hello.cpp
hello.pro
Makefile

jpn
14th August 2008, 11:24
It's not an error. It's just saying that there is nothing to do. Either there is no necessary rules in the makefile or you built the application already. That's why I asked you to show the project file to get a grip what kind of makefile gets generated. Anyway, what happens if you type "make clean" and then "make"?

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 12:54
when i make the file in windows where should the exe file be loacated??

when executing make clear then make
i am getting almost 37 files named makefile.hello.hello....................

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 12:57
################################################## ####################
# Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Thu 14. Aug 17:17:24 2008
################################################## ####################

TEMPLATE = subdirs

# Directories
SUBDIRS += hello.pro

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 12:57
#include <QApplication>
#include <QLabel>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
{
QApplication app(argc, argv);
QLabel *label = new QLabel("Hello Qt!");
label->show();
return app.exec();
}

trying to build the above code

jacek
14th August 2008, 20:29
Make sure that there are only sources in your project's directory, run "qmake -project" once more and post the resulting .pro file.

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 21:00
################################################## ####################
# Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Fri 15. Aug 01:27:23 2008
################################################## ####################

TEMPLATE = subdirs

# Directories

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 21:09
getting the same error again after qmake hello.pro and make

itssaurav2004
14th August 2008, 21:11
should i use open suse for qt programming or windows vista will it make any difference

jpn
14th August 2008, 21:22
################################################## ####################
# Automatically generated by qmake (2.01a) Fri 15. Aug 01:27:23 2008
################################################## ####################

TEMPLATE = subdirs

# Directories
The project file wouldn't look like this if you ran "qmake -project" in a directory which contains hello.cpp and nothing more, like jacek suggested.

dangdude
4th October 2008, 21:19
I'm reading the same book: C++ GUI Programming with QT4. Note it's freely available for download.

Just helping the next guy, since I came across this because I was stuck too. Starting with the one sample file hello.cpp in the book, there are three commands necessary:

qmake -project (makes the hello.pro file)
qmake hello.pro (makes the makefile file and output dirs)
make (builds the exe file and puts in .\debug)

Below is the output from my Windows command shell window to follow along.


C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake -project

C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake hello.pro

C:\save\code\QT\hello>make
mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug
mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -
DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"..\..
\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..
\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\.
.\..\Qt\4.4.3\include" -I"." -I"c:\Qt\4.4.3\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I
"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\hello.o hello.cpp
g++ -enable-stdcall-fixup -Wl,-enable-auto-import -Wl,-enable-runtime-pseudo-rel
oc -mthreads -Wl -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\hello.exe debug/hello.o -L"c:\
Qt\4.4.3\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4
mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'

C:\save\code\QT\hello>dir .\debug
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 4855-0A59

Directory of C:\save\code\QT\hello\debug

10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> .
10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> ..
10/04/2008 03:11 PM 1,561,390 hello.exe
10/04/2008 03:11 PM 461,938 hello.o
2 File(s) 2,023,328 bytes
2 Dir(s) 13,894,422,528 bytes free

C:\save\code\QT\hello>

tesmai4
24th September 2013, 11:36
May be a late response;
I got this error when my application was unable to find required DLLs. There was no run time error or any other indication from the application.
Regards,


I'm reading the same book: C++ GUI Programming with QT4. Note it's freely available for download.

Just helping the next guy, since I came across this because I was stuck too. Starting with the one sample file hello.cpp in the book, there are three commands necessary:

qmake -project (makes the hello.pro file)
qmake hello.pro (makes the makefile file and output dirs)
make (builds the exe file and puts in .\debug)

Below is the output from my Windows command shell window to follow along.


C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake -project

C:\save\code\QT\hello>qmake hello.pro

C:\save\code\QT\hello>make
mingw32-make -f Makefile.Debug
mingw32-make[1]: Entering directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'
g++ -c -g -frtti -fexceptions -mthreads -Wall -DUNICODE -DQT_LARGEFILE_SUPPORT -
DQT_DLL -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT -DQT_NEEDS_QMAIN -I"..\..
\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtCore" -I"..\..
\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\include\QtGui" -I"..\..\.
.\..\Qt\4.4.3\include" -I"." -I"c:\Qt\4.4.3\include\ActiveQt" -I"debug" -I"." -I
"..\..\..\..\Qt\4.4.3\mkspecs\win32-g++" -o debug\hello.o hello.cpp
g++ -enable-stdcall-fixup -Wl,-enable-auto-import -Wl,-enable-runtime-pseudo-rel
oc -mthreads -Wl -Wl,-subsystem,windows -o debug\hello.exe debug/hello.o -L"c:\
Qt\4.4.3\lib" -lmingw32 -lqtmaind -lQtGuid4 -lQtCored4
mingw32-make[1]: Leaving directory `C:/save/code/QT/hello'

C:\save\code\QT\hello>dir .\debug
Volume in drive C has no label.
Volume Serial Number is 4855-0A59

Directory of C:\save\code\QT\hello\debug

10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> .
10/04/2008 03:11 PM <DIR> ..
10/04/2008 03:11 PM 1,561,390 hello.exe
10/04/2008 03:11 PM 461,938 hello.o
2 File(s) 2,023,328 bytes
2 Dir(s) 13,894,422,528 bytes free

C:\save\code\QT\hello>

ChrisW67
24th September 2013, 21:04
Five years ago the OP's problem was that the PRO file was self-referential. The first time qmake ran it generated a Makefile for the subdirs template and then recursed into each subdir and repeated the process. Problem was that the 'subdir' referred tot the same PRO file again. Eventually this would terminate, leaving the multitude of Makefiles described. Running make at that time would look to see if qmake needed to be run, decide it did not, and produce the nothing to do message. At no time did the OP's PRO file include the C++ sources... Jacek, jpn and dangdude all showed what was wrong.