PDA

View Full Version : Image processing

NicNac
18th August 2008, 19:18
Hi guys
Im new to Qt currently installed Qt4 on Mac OS X, I read through some of the documentation (C++-GUI-Programming-with-Qt-4-1st-ed), but it only gives some basic stuff. I want to load multiple images from the hard disk and display them one after the ohter in a GUI program. I need a starting point. please lead the way im prepared to do all that is needed from my part.

aamer4yu
18th August 2008, 20:13
I need a starting point. please lead the way im prepared to do all that is needed from my part.
Refer the Image Viewer example in Qt Demo.

You can very easily show an image on a QLabel. If you want to show multiple images in a single area, you can use QLabel with QTimer to get the effect of slideshow.

Otherwise, you can add QLabel in a layout and display multiple images

Hope this helps :)

wysota
18th August 2008, 20:19
A starting point would be to read about QLabel, QPixmap and QTimer.

NicNac
18th August 2008, 22:36
thanks guy i'll give it a look

NicNac
25th August 2008, 22:41
Now i can load photos, but i can only do it when i know the exact names of the files. My next mission is to browse a folder and load all the pictures (jpg format for now), display them one after another (a slide show kind of thing). Any suggestions?

wysota
26th August 2008, 09:39
QDir and QDir::entryList().

aamer4yu
26th August 2008, 10:35
Or may be QFileDialog::getOpenFileNames .

QFileDialog::getOpenFileNames(this,"Select one or more files to open","/home","Images (*.png *.xpm *.jpg)");

NicNac
26th August 2008, 20:23
Thanks guys for all your help, i'm making progress on my application. Next mission, I want to customize buttons by say linking the file browsing action with a button. The only options i can find is the ones preinstalled. should i define my own slots or is there a better way?

wysota
27th August 2008, 12:13
Read a tutorial and browse Qt Assistant please :)

NicNac
19th September 2008, 11:36
Hi,