PDA

View Full Version : Adapting the "Simple DOM Model Example" to be read/write

joshuajcarson
4th September 2008, 18:05
The example is found in the Qt Assistant. I'm trying to use a Tree View with an XML file as my model. I tried to search through these forums to see if something like this has been talked about, but you're not allowed to search for xml and "xml" as a tag has been used four times when I was searching.

Anyway, the example is read-only. What I'll be wanting to do is either just add comments to elements or to create brand new elements in the xml. I'm new to using Model/View stuff (I've always just used the much easier to use TreeWidget and such before), but I was wondering if someone has made an XML model that is read/write, some helpful tips/code snippets, or links to tutorials who can walk me through this problem.

Thanks.

aamer4yu
4th September 2008, 19:58
If you want simply edit functionality, the simplest way would be to use QTextEdit and apply a syntax highlighter on it.

but then you wont be able to expand/collapse nodes.

Other thing you can try is setting delegate on the tree view, and edit the node. I had modeified the simple DOM model example applying delegate to it. You can refer this (http://www.qtcentre.org/forum/f-qt-programming-2/t-xml-highlighting-and-modelview-14288.html) thread. Hope it helps you :)

joshuajcarson
4th September 2008, 21:34
I don't want to just display the XML as it's read, but display it differently. Example:

Say I have a list of bikes. Each bike has the following elements,

Name
Comfort Level
Top Speed